Overall Review

4.4
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.6)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Wait Time 14.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 28th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Visited him for a colonoscopy. Was painless. He made sure I understood everything about the procedure and its purpose ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring, very thorough, very knowledgeable, respectful of patient's perspective
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr hillel Hammerman listened to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 10th, 2014
What a disappointment
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highly recommended by a colleague at work. Went to see him for gastro expertise but recd mediocre internist who is friendly and funny but not thorough on diagnosis nor recommendation for treatment. Now I need to find another specialist and spend more money and time
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2013
mixed bag
smart, thorough, insular, sanctimonious, dedicated, arrogant, spends time with patient, underlying anger, caring but patronizing, sarcastic, meticulous. remember, he's the doctor and the only real adult in the room.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2013
Takes his time, thoughtful doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hammerman is that rare Internist who listens, takes his time to get a good history, and thinks through what your problems may be. Also a very nice many, and easy to talk to. I'd recommend him highly as Primary Care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2012
THE BEST IN TOWN
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I AM LUCKY TO HAVE A DR LIKE DR HAMMERMAN A PERSON WITH SO MANY ALLERGIC REACTIONS TO MEDICATIONS SUCH AS MYSELF WOULD BE ENOUGH TO DISCOURAGE MANY OTHER DOCTORS. KNOWING THE FINE DOCTOR THAT HE IS, I'M CONFIDENT AS WELL AS COMFORTABLE IN HIS CARE. I DO NOT LIVE IN NY, BUT HE STILL ANSWERS MY CALLS AND RECEIVES TEST PERFORMED BY OTHER DOCTORS AND REVIEWS THEM WITHOUT CHARGING A FEE, TALK ABOUT COMPASSION "THAT'S A D O C T O R "
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 15th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Hammerman was condescending and completely unhelpful. I would NEVER recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2011
Caring, Thorough Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really don't understand the handful of negative comments on this site (especially the one that has no explanation). I have never found a doctor in NY (or anywhere) who spends more time with patients, and who is as thorough in his examinations and trying to figure out what is really wrong. Dr. Hammerman has even diagnosed/explained issues that were missed by specialists in other fields (i.e an arthritic issue that he saw in an x-ray, missed by the orthopedist and rheumatologist). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2011
Not recommended
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2011
A good doctor is hard to find
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As someone who has had major health issues starting in adolescence Dr. Hammerman has always been a step ahead of the pack with both diagnostics, mechanics, and knowledge. He has managed major health issues for me and family in a very professional manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2010
One of the Best GIs in the City
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hammerman is by far one of the best Gastroenterologists in New York (at least in my opinion). With a newly diagnosed GI condition, I had started at one of the big academic centers in NY, with the "top guy" -- who I found was more interested in compiling research statistics than treating patients (i.e. me). Dr. Hammerman is thorough, analytical, and interested in treating patients and their symptoms. I have never been to a Doctor who spends more time with each patient, and gives such individualized attention. And you always leave with a written course of action/treatment plan, that has been thoroughly discussed, explained, and reviewed. My strongest recommendation!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Hillel Hammerman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Leonard Harrison

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ludwig Klein

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Nacht

3.0 of 5