Dr. Howard Barnebey MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 46 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.9)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Wait Time 30.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had cataract surgery by Dr. Barnebey. I had a great outcome, and the follow-up care has been excellent. I will continue to have him as my Ophthalmologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 4th, 2014
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, arrogant staff. No listening. No follow-up. Barnebey may have experience and credentials, but there is a pervasive culture in his office that is not patient oriented. Avoid this practice! There are plenty of other good Ophthalmologists in the Seattle area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am really not sure why Dr. Barnebey is still practicing or has any patients at all based on my experiences and reading the majority of these reviews. He is absolutely one of the rudest doctors I have ever met in my life. He has no care, no compassion and no respect for anyone. Why is he allowed to practice medicine with this attitude? Why does anyone accept this as OK? My advice is for everyone to stop going to him until he agrees to change his attitude and manner. Why give him any of your money! I know I will not ever again!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 31st, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Barnebey is rude and shows little care to his patient and staff. Every seems afraid of him. He never clearly explained my condition and gave a list of things to do and to purchase for my eye care. I had to push him repeatedly for further explanation. His staff was also no help. When I asked for background information, I was told to search it myself on Google without specific detail. When I asked about billing questions, they also could not provide me with detail. He recommended an expensive and ongoing treatment but never convinced me why I need it. He did not earn my trust nor my return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 24th, 2013
Run away FAST !
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Chaotic office, with rapid turnover of staff. At one time perhaps the most qualified in his fiend, though now abrupt and disheveled looking older doctor, who has no patience with his patients. Wait and wait and wait, get shifted from one tech to another, most of whom are quite lovely people, though clearly afraid to challenge or question this physician? If you have severe glaucoma issues, there are now several excellent alternatives in the metro-Seattle area, and it is no longer necessary to endure this physician. Someone mentioned 'businessman' and yes, it does feel like a factory in his offices. Cannot comment on his 'diagnosis' skills as I was referred for surgery from another office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
A very professional doctor with amazing skills. Prompt, informative and compassionate. Thank you for such great service.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Always have to wait, very difficult to get someone to drive me to the appointment because it ends up taking so long. Dr is always in a rush to get on to the next patient. I am changing doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 10th, 2012
Waiting Time
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff polite, sometimes front desk person very cold. Never on time with appointments even though you are scheduled for the first appointment in the morning.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 10th, 2011
Dr. Barnebey has been treating a persistent cornea infection for a few years. I have been satisfied with his diagnosis and treatment but his bedside manners need improvement. During my last appointment I voiced no confidence in his associate doctor who performs the refractions because after three tries the eyeglasses were unsatisfactory. Dr. Barnebey made a rude comment and passed me off to the same associate for another refraction that is somewhat better. He instructed me to make follow-up appointments with the associate. I won't be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2011
Poor Communications
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Barneby maybe a fine knowledgable doctor but unfortunately he is not able to display sincerity. It may be that he is from the old school....he acts superior to his patients and does not welcome questions. It is his way or the highway. Unfortunately after seeing him several years I have decided to discontinue as his patient. He is rude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2011
better ones out there
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This office is not worth your time. The office is clean and very nice looking, they just did a remodel and you could tell where the money went. Every time I go I have to wait at least an half an hr past my appointment time. Dr. Barnebey is experience and knowledgeable enough, but once your in the room with him he acts likes your just one of many and only spends 5 minuets with you. All along acting like he can't wait to get to the next patient and that your wasting his time. His staff was very nice and accommodating and makes the experience much more tolerable. In the long run, there are other ophthalmologists in the Seattle area that are just as experienced and good with much better people skills. Look around before you go here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2011
Stay Away From This Doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor may be competent but his bedside manner is horrible. He doesn't answer your questions and made me come back for additional unnecessary testing before he would give me the results of my first day of testing. If you tell him your are allergic to something he said "I have to use what he wanted or I was welcome to leave." That is not the way a professional should behave and certainly not one that I would feel is thinking of what is in my best interest. There are many other great opthamologists in Seattle and Bellevue and fortunately I found one. I would never wish this doctor on anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Howard Barnebey, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bellevue, WA.

Doctor

Dr. Ernesto Golez

5 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Kristin Tarbet

24 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Matthew Sharpe

23 years experience

3.3 of 5