The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Howard Chen Is this you?
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Howard Chen?


26 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2017

If you are looking for a ophthalmologist that is thorough and conservative than I highly recommend Dr. Howard Chen. The staff is knowledgeable regarding insurance and they are upfront regarding patients out of pocket. I appreciate the ease of scheduling and appointment flow.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 15th, 2016

Great doctor and surgeon. Very good with patients - both he and Lynnette are great.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 15th, 2016

I cannot brag enough about this office
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2016

Incredibly sweet office staff

I had cataract surgery by Doctor Chen. I was very happy with the out come of my surgery and my vision. I would also like to brag of the front office gal!!! Lynn made the entire experience stress free, and I knew that any questions or concerns I had I could call her with and she was kind, sweet and patient. Honestly, I think the doctor did good surgery, but he lacks people skills, and he is not very approachable. Lynn made up for that with her caring and understanding nature.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2015

I have had diabetes for 10 years. Dr Chen was very informed about diabetic retinopathy and treatment options. I got my first injection yesterday and it was a lot better than I expected. This is the only Doctor I will trust with a needle in my eye.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2015

My mom can see again!

The quality of my mom's life has improved to much thanks to Dr. Chen! My mom was legally blind and wheel chair bound before cataract surgery and not she walks around, dances, and plays with her grandson. I would also like to mention that the office manager is so sweet, and very helpful!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 29th, 2015

The girl in the front desk was very knowledgeable about my insurance. Dr. Chen did a wonderful job on my cataract surgery and not I can see 20/20 again!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 25th, 2015

I can see after having Cataracts!!!!!

I thought I was going blind. Dr. Chen did cataract surgery and now I can see 20/20 without glasses.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2015

Very pleased with the surgery. Had great results!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 21st, 2015

Happy they fit me in without mich delay.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 10th, 2014

Excellent doctor

This was my first experience with a cataract surgeon and I am glad to say that it was a wonderful one. Dr. Chen was very punctual, knowledgeable and friendly. I

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2013

Doctor was very rude & will definitely never see him again.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Howard Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Goodyear, AZ.

  • Dr. Jon Astle

    Dr. Jon Astle

    Ophthalmology

    Goodyear, AZ 0.13 mi

    4.7
    (5)
    51
  • Dr. Bentley Skibell

    Dr. Bentley Skibell

    Ophthalmology

    Goodyear, AZ 0.13 mi

    4.7
    (24)
    20
  • Dr. Stephen Hwang

    Dr. Stephen Hwang

    Ophthalmology

    Goodyear, AZ 0.13 mi

    4.1
    (20)
    17