Dr. Howard Chen MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Goodyear, AZ

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.4)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    64%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    28%
  • Wait Time 18.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for a ophthalmologist that is thorough and conservative than I highly recommend Dr. Howard Chen. The staff is knowledgeable regarding insurance and they are upfront regarding patients out of pocket. I appreciate the ease of scheduling and appointment flow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor and surgeon. Very good with patients - both he and Lynnette are great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2016
Incredibly sweet office staff
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had cataract surgery by Doctor Chen. I was very happy with the out come of my surgery and my vision. I would also like to brag of the front office gal!!! Lynn made the entire experience stress free, and I knew that any questions or concerns I had I could call her with and she was kind, sweet and patient. Honestly, I think the doctor did good surgery, but he lacks people skills, and he is not very approachable. Lynn made up for that with her caring and understanding nature.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had diabetes for 10 years. Dr Chen was very informed about diabetic retinopathy and treatment options. I got my first injection yesterday and it was a lot better than I expected. This is the only Doctor I will trust with a needle in my eye.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2015
My mom can see again!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The quality of my mom's life has improved to much thanks to Dr. Chen! My mom was legally blind and wheel chair bound before cataract surgery and not she walks around, dances, and plays with her grandson. I would also like to mention that the office manager is so sweet, and very helpful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 29th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The girl in the front desk was very knowledgeable about my insurance. Dr. Chen did a wonderful job on my cataract surgery and not I can see 20/20 again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2015
I can see after having Cataracts!!!!!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I thought I was going blind. Dr. Chen did cataract surgery and now I can see 20/20 without glasses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very pleased with the surgery. Had great results!

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Happy they fit me in without mich delay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2014
Excellent doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This was my first experience with a cataract surgeon and I am glad to say that it was a wonderful one. Dr. Chen was very punctual, knowledgeable and friendly. I
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor was very rude & will definitely never see him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very poor office staff and scheduling. Only use because health insurance covers him, but I am pushing for better coverage and new doctors. Several better doctors in area including top ophthalmologist in Phoenix. His listening skills are not good and does not address my concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Dr. Chen is now at a new location with better office staff and scheduling.


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Howard Chen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Goodyear, AZ.