The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Howard Shackelford Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

22 Ratings • 6 Comments

4.6
  • 19
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Howard Shackelford Jr?

Showing 12 of 22 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on July 29th, 2016

I trust him with my life I have seen his work since 1980 he is the best

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 30th, 2016

This man saved my husbands life with emergency surgery. He explained everything to me in precise detail after the surgery and the follow up with my husband

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 28th, 2015

Thank you for giving me the best Christmas Blessing I could ever hope for. You saved my son s life. Thank You from the bottom of my heart. Bless You and your family.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2015

Dr. Shackleford is a wonderful Christian man who is very humble concerning his abilities. There is no other surgeon I would want working on me. Can't express how much confidence I have in this doctor and how much I admire him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Saved my dad's life

Posted on January 24th, 2011

in may of 2010 my dad needed a 5 vessel coronary artery bypass graft. he was diagnosed as needing this at a local hospital that dr shack does not come to. i am a registered nurse and having seen his remarkable work in the hospital that i work in, i only wanted him to operate and manage my father's care. i called his office and told them who i was and what was going on. they called him @ home(he was not on call by the way) and he called me back in less than 5 minutes. i gave him updates and he told me to get my dad to wheeling medical park hospital as soon as possible and he would take care of the rest. once there dr shackelford came to see my dad. my dad said i really dont understand all of this but i am scared. dr then asked him what he liked. my dad told him sports but mainly football. they sat and talked about football for 20 plus minutes and then dr explained the procedure using football terms and analogies so not to speak over my dad's head. during the surgery he had a nurse call out to us multiple times to update my family. today my father is alive and well. working just like he loves to do and is in the best shape of his life. working at another hospital that dr shackelford is afiliated, when he rounds, he asks me how my dad is doing. i have never in my years of nursing known a better surgeon. his physician assistants are all very intelligent, caring and compassionate. if you live in the ohio valley and a loved one of yours needs surgery, i would recomend dr shackelford to you. after all, don't you and your loved ones deserve the best?

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Doctor Shackelford and all Staff,

Posted on December 16th, 2010

You made me laugh before surgery. This helped so much. PAM in the hospital made my tearful day easier to deal with. She found a common interest of our dogs and my day turned out so much better. The hospital staff are top notch for a big baby like myself.I just lost my job after surgery. Hope your understanding in my attempts to pay the bill that I am scared to receive from you.Your PA's are the best. Smart women. I like to see this. It's obvious that you treat them with great respect. So many community members told me ahead of time that if I wanted the best surgeon then (Shack) is the man. Thank you and the Lord for your skill, funny manner and ability to find just the perfect group of individuals to assist you in your work. Praises and Praises send to you.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 22nd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 22nd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 8th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on October 12th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on June 5th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 6th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Howard Shackelford Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Saint Clairsville, OH.