ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Hugh Calkins Is this you?
  • 24
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
  • 12

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Hugh Calkins?


45 Ratings with 19 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 21st, 2016

Professional and Knowledgeable

Dr. Calkins is very professional, knowledgeable, and personable. He listens to the patient and actually pays attention to what the patient says.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

January 14th, 2016

Afib

I saw Dr Calkins initially for a second opinion about managing my Afib after being told by another cardiologist to "live with it." After reviewing my records and discussing with me, he said that even though my type of Afib only had about a 70% change of correction that my age (only 66), health and activity level made it advisable to try to correct before the window of opportunity closed. He worked out a plan for me including new medication, a cardio conversion in a month and plans for a catheter ablation within 6 months. He was attentive and supportive. He gave me his email address if I had any questions. We followed his plan and after the electro conversion I never went back into Afib. He did the ablation about 5 months later, and I have been in sinus rhythm ever since, with no sign of ever going back into Afib. He was wonderful and supportive and his assistants were also excellent. The staff at Johns Hopkins made me feel as though i was they're only patient! I have been Afib free for several years now and the only medication I take is for a prophylactic anti coagulation regimen indicated for my age and I have slight bradycardia (resting pulse 52 - 55). Warfarin is a minor inconvenience and I feel great! I still keep in touch with Dr. Calkins via e-mail once or twice a year. I highly recommend him and his team for anyone with heart arrhythmia issues

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2015

Amazing doctor

I have been seeing Calkins for 15+ years and he has been of immense help in treating my AF and FIB problems. He communicates well and responds quickly to any email questions. He has worked hard to help me maintain a good quality of life...still sailing and playing tennis. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2015

My husband needed a 2nd opinion (had been advised to have surgery by his initial cardiologist). We were apprehensive and so, were referred to Dr. Calkins by another physician. Dr. Calkins was wonderful, very knowledgeable, and informative. A year later, my husband is still doing well, has not needed this surgery. We are very thankful to have been able to be seen by Dr. Calkins and will certainly go back to him if needed in the future.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2014

Sr Professional Staff-APL

The Dr. was very frank about my heart issue. We tried the conventional medications but in the end a procedure was necessary. He was very professional and answered my questions quickly. He took the time to explain everything. His administrators and medical staff were top notch. They respected me and each other. You could tell they had a good working relationship built on trust. After the procedure Dr. Calkins came to my room 3 times to check on my progress. He made sure I was aware of the healing process and what to expect over the course of the next few days, weeks and months. I have and will continue to recommend Dr. Calkins to my family and friends.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2014

Keep On Bikin'

Thanks to a complex ablation and good follow-up care by Dr. Calkins, I've been able to continue mtn-biking all over the world.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 27th, 2014

Dr Hugh Calkins, John's Hopkins University/Hospital

Best doctor in the US treating patients with various arrhythmia disorders. I have been Dr. Calkins patient since 2008 and travel from Florida to John's Hopkins to take advantage of his knowledge and considerable skills. Dr. Calkins is on the cutting edge of research in the treatment of heart arrhythmias and is Professor of Cardiology at John's Hopkins University. He has given me a second chance at a full and active life. John's Hopkins Hospital and Dr. Calkins are worth the trip!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 8th, 2014

Super Doctor

I had been to five cardiologists for 7 months, and no one could find the right combinations of medicines for my AFIB. Dr. Calkins was successful, and I have been out of AFIB for at least a month. I feel like a million dollars! I am an extremely healthy individual and developed AFIB 24 hours after having the Senior Flu Shot. I am very grateful to him for also answering his e-mails very promptly. I do not need to go back to see him unless I have a problem. I wish I had seen him immediately after I had the problem.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 5th, 2014

Dr. Calkins is the best cardiac arrhythmia specialist! Prior to being under his care, my heart arrhythmias were out of control even though I was taking medications for them at the time. Thanks to Dr. Calkins's advice and treatment, my situation is now stabilized.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2013

A doctor's doctor. Now I know why.

I have heard about Dr. Calkins from a few friends and now my doctor has called him for a phone consult. I cant thank him enough for taking the time t ...

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2013

Dr. Calkins is a world-class expert in heart rhythm problems, and a very caring and effective practitioner

I made an appointment with Dr. Calkins because I was experiencing frequent episodes of Atrial Fibrillation which was interfering with my need for an a ...

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2012

Best Dr. I have ever seen

Dr. Calkins is a compassionate, caring, skilled professional who does not deserve to be the brunt of an advertising forum for one reviewer's online "book". He is a wonderful physician and you should not be afraid to see him. In fact you would be lucky to be able to have him care for you.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Hugh Calkins is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Baltimore, MD.

  • Dr. Chao-Wei Hwang

    Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease, Cardiology

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Nancy Strahan

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    40
  • Dr. Alejandro Garcia

    Pediatric Surgery, Cardiovascular Disease, Interventional Cardiology

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9