Dr. Imtiaz Alam MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.7
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.6)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    57%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Wait Time 21.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2016
Medical Hero
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came to Dr. Alam after being dissatisfied with the attention I was receiving from another top ten rated gastroenterologist in the Austin area for a life threatening illness. Dr. Alam cured my illness within weeks of my initial visit. I was very happy to meet with his PA for follow-up visits over the internet since I live 50 miles from his office. In addition, this provided Dr. Alam extra time to cure others like me. There is no way I would nitpick his busy staff (per other reviews) after receiving excellent medical care from Dr. Alam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the best of the best Dr Alam has helped me tremendously during my fight with hep c
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 16th, 2015
bad doc
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I met him and told him my symptoms that I think I had a parasite from south america biting me, He then said" stuidies and your symptoms show that you have been molested by your father . This was sick and disgusting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 30th, 2013
Clean House Dr. Alam!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I too was treated by Dr. Imtiaz Alam and I love him except his largest problem is his staff and voice mail system!!! I personally talked to him about these issues and nothing changed; a nurse who give wrong info, won't return calls, and is rude (never wrong...someone else's fault). CT scans/blood work "lost", nurse Spring lowered meds when Dr ordered increase, nothing changes even with talking to office mgr - I am so sick of it that I reported it to Dr Alam, said I may find someone else - didn't seem to make difference. I guess if triple drug treatment failed; there is no follow up, I feel they don't care, not like at first. At 1 point they had a gal that was so nice, caring & boom, she's gone. He may be the best in his field yet my emotional toil is not good for liver. Does he really care about them AFTER treatment?? Didn't seem like it even during it....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 4th, 2013
Excellent Doctor -needs new office policies
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Is fabulous. I've never experienced such poor office help in a doctors office. The phone is NEVER answered by a live person. One must sit through numerous voive mail messages, only to leave a message to be returned within 24-48 hours. The best thing this dr could do is to "play patient" and see for himself how hard it is to get through to his staff. He would surely change the policies in his office. When a person is sick, they don't want to wait 24-48 hours to have an appoint made or to speak with anyone at his office. Bad policy to have people never answer the phone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 27th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His staff is lacking. Nearly impossible to get through to them by phone. Always goes to voice mail and you have to call several times prior to speaking to a staff member. Other than the above, I have found Dr. Alam a fine physican.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2012
Dr. Alam Saved My LIfe
Wait time
15 minutes
Dr. Alam and his staff saved my life. I had a very serious illness. Dr. Alam and all of his staff were very informed, proactive, caring, and professional. When side effects or problems with my lab work appeared, Dr. Alam took immediate action, either with prescriptions or by sending me to a specialist in that field. As a result, I had minimal discomfort and all issues were dealt with promptly and efficiently. He is a very good man who is both brilliant and caring. All of his staff are friendly, informed, and caring. His PA handled all of my insurance concerns immediately. My prescription refills were done promptly. I highly recommend this doctor!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2012
Horrible unprofessional staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff is HORRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2011
cold staff
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Alam is a great guy and a superb Physician. But..... that said, his staff had a stick up their rear. The main office lady hasn't smiled once in the 10 yrs I've been a patient, Not even after I told her to her face... "Smile, your day will be better, and so will everyone else's. At that she frowned and just went back to what she was doing. She's been that way since the first time I saw her. But, to be fair, she wasn't trying to be the Dr. just a wage earner and certainly not a PR person. Alam is one of the best in his field in my opinion.He DOES tend to stack appointments. Go early in the day or expect a long wait. I spent my extra time correcting the spelling and phraseology on the directions and warning sheet they give to everyone. One page, 15 corrections. NOT good for a professional office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2011
Get to the point
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alam treated me for a very serious problem and what I really liked about him was the way he got to the point and immediately went into "how we are going to fix it". He didn't waste my time or his, it is what it is. He was friendly, knowledgable and caring. I love his staff. When I got my diagnosis, they were right there to support me and throughout the treatment.I just love those young ladies. I am sticking with Dr. Alam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 17th, 2011
Patient (Sanders Family)
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alam has treated my wife and daughter and we think he's an a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office staff are incredibly rude. I have never spoken to so many different office staff who seem to have no clue what they are doing. For example: Telling me my insurance isn't accepted after making an appointment and collecting my info- when in fact they do take my insurance. The staff have repeatedly provided me with information that isn't accurate or true. I would not return to this doctor for the sheer fact that his staff are inappropriate in the way they communicate with the Dr.'s Patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Imtiaz Alam, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Grad

18 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Paolo Venegoni

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Simona Scumpia

35 years experience

2.0 of 5