The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ira Markowitz Is this you?
  • 13
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
31.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ira Markowitz?


25 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 18th, 2016

Dr. Markowitz diagnosed a subclavian carotid blockage in my neck in 2000 and performed bypass surgery almost immediately. He was very direct, very professional.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 1st, 2016

Great. Doc ..... Some multiple doctors without help this man spent time and energy figured it out...liked him

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 29th, 2015

He is rude doctor... Very rude.

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2014

What a Pompous JERK

Without a shadow of a doubt this.this...well Ira P Markowitz is a child. And just think if the above 4 star reviews are genuine ( which they of course aren't). Then he is one bipolar madman because the previous 4 one stars are logically True.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 27th, 2014

Complete jerk and will seriously harm you if you go to him. All he wants is patients money and doesnt care about anyone.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 7th, 2011

Steve Rogers

I would not be alive today if it were not for Dr. Markowitz. I cannot thank this man enough for what he has done for me

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2011

Amazing!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 15th, 2010

Dr. Markowitz is a very kind and professional person. His focus is on the consistent care for his patients. He is a type A personality, and exhausts all means for the needs of his clientell. He acts fast on aberrant findings. I trust myself to his care. His office staff are so sweet, caring, and assist in all ways the needs of the patient. I highly recommend any one looking for a Dr. that is a patient advocate to go to him.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 30th, 2010

The best surgeon in New Orleans

I went to see Dr. Markowitz because I had pain in my legs. He walked in and spent 45 minutes with me going through my history. First of all, no doctor ever spends 45 minutes with a patient, but he really took his time with me. His staff was very nice and helpful. After going through many tests, He diagnosed me with P.A.D. (which is low blood-flow), and I needed to have surgery. Its been 6 months since my surgery and I feel great. No more pain in my leg! Dr. Markowitz is very confident in his work. He is an excellent surgeon and I would reccommend anyone seeing him if you have bloodflow problems or pain in your legs or feet.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2009

Excellent surgeon, terrible social skills

Dr. Markowitz saved my brother's life; for that my entire family is grateul.However, Dr. Markowitz destroyed any respect we had for him when - after he learned that my brother had no insurance - he demanded that WE (not my brother) pay him a lump sum for his services even before my bother was out of the ICU.He tried to bully us by threatening to move my brther to another hospital (something he has no power to do). Simply unprofessional and unethical. He s good at what he does, but should stay away from concious people.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 15th, 2009

VERY HAPPY WITH DR MARKOWITZ

I DON'T FEEL THAT I WOULD STILL BE ALIVE WITHOUT DR MARKOWITZ. HE HAS SAVED ME SEVERAL TIMES IN THE LAST 5 YEARS AND HAS PUT ME WITH A TEAM OF DOCTORS THAT, LIKE HIM, HAVE GIVEN ME THE BEST CARE. I COULDN'T THANK DR MARKOWITZ ENOUGH FOR ALL HE HAS DONE FOR ME.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 17th, 2008

Well trained in extracting money from his patients at any cost.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ira Markowitz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Metairie, LA.

  • Dr. Nick Moustoukas

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery

    Metairie, LA 0.23 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    34
  • Dr. Prashant Gupta

    General Practice, General Surgery, Pediatrics

    Metairie, LA 0.27 mi

    11
  • Dr. Lisa Mazoch

    Emergency Medicine, General Surgery

    Metairie, LA 0.27 mi

    25