ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ira Piel Is this you?
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ira Piel?


25 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 17th, 2015

Seems to be a trend

My mom had this Doctor. Doesn't interact with patients well at all. I met him once and he had the personality of a rock . Find yourself a real Doctor else where.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2014

Highly recommend

Dr. Piel's professionalism, experience, knowledge, thoroughness, and compassion are very reassuring. I truly believe I have received the best care possible with Dr. Piel and his nursing staff.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2013

Doctor does not visit when hospitalized, staff rude & does not forward emergency messages

Doctor does not follow through when hospitalized and does not return calls. Staff does not forward messages as well and billing staff is very, very, rude. North Shore Oncology operates as a wellness team and you are far better off choosing them, rather than a doctor that practices individually without sufficient, professional support staff. This doctor does NOT explain treatment or inform patient of alternative treament. All of the mistakes started after a course of treatment and it was difficult to find another physician in the middle of treatment. I would not recommend this doctor for any reason.

Doctor's Response

This patient's wife became irritated with our practice while being cared for by a physician covering for Dr. Piel. She had transferred care from another practice about a year earlier because of dissatisfaction with them.

SHOW
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 6th, 2011

Great Doctor! Bad staff!!!

I'm a current patient of Dr. Piel's and I think he's great. His office staff however, the ladies at front desk are very rude every time I call. I don't appreciate their tone and I do expect to be treated kindly. I'm seriously considering changing doctors because of his staff.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 6th, 2011

Care and service

Fantastic service from the front office to the back office! I've been treated at this office for 6 years and I credit Dr. Piel and his nursing staff for my stable health.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 5th, 2011

P D Smith

Very caring and personal service..

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2011

Excellent compassionate doctor

Excellent compassionate doctor. Spent a great deal of time with me answering my questions any going over my treatment options. He returned my calls promptly. The nurses in the office and offered me advice and helped me through my chemotherapy. I had a problem with my insurance and they helped to make sure I got all of my benefits. I would definitely recommend!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 24th, 2010

A Lifesaver (Literally!)

Thank God for Dr. Piel! As a thirty-something mother of two, it was terrifying and traumatic for me when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Thanks to Dr. Piel and his staff, I am still here today to care for my family.I was referred to Dr. Piel by a friend whose mother was treated by him over 20 years ago. It was very reassuring and important to me to be under the care of an experienced and reputable doctor. Dr. Piel lived up to all of my expectations. He was punctual, professional, compassionate, and best of all, SUCCESSFUL in treating my cancer! I am forever grateful. (P.S. The cheerful staff and yummy snacks made my chemo visits much more tolerable than one might think:)

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2010

Very Knowledgeable

Dr Piel took as long as we needed to explain different treatment options.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2010

A dinosaur

Pompous. As with many cancer patients, I sought several opinions. Only Dr. Piel's reccomendations varied dramatically from other treatment recommendations. That's scary. Really crabby staff! I won't be seeing him again!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 16th, 2017

4.0 Rating

October 11th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ira Piel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gurnee, IL.

  • Dr. Gregory Crovetti

    Dr. Gregory Crovetti

    Sports Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0.14 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    22
  • Dr. Rakhi Khanna

    Dr. Rakhi Khanna

    Nephrology, Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0.14 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    17
  • Dr. Leon Sujata

    Dr. Leon Sujata

    Nephrology, Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0.14 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    8