Dr. Ira Piel MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.1)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    71%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 19.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Seems to be a trend
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My mom had this Doctor. Doesn't interact with patients well at all. I met him once and he had the personality of a rock . Find yourself a real Doctor else where.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2014
Highly recommend
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Piel's professionalism, experience, knowledge, thoroughness, and compassion are very reassuring. I truly believe I have received the best care possible with Dr. Piel and his nursing staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 28th, 2013
Doctor does not visit when hospitalized, staff rude & does not forward emergency messages
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor does not follow through when hospitalized and does not return calls. Staff does not forward messages as well and billing staff is very, very, rude. North Shore Oncology operates as a wellness team and you are far better off choosing them, rather than a doctor that practices individually without sufficient, professional support staff. This doctor does NOT explain treatment or inform patient of alternative treament. All of the mistakes started after a course of treatment and it was difficult to find another physician in the middle of treatment. I would not recommend this doctor for any reason.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

This patient's wife became irritated with our practice while being cared for by a physician covering for Dr. Piel. She had transferred care from another practice about a year earlier because of dissatisfaction with them.


4.0 of 5
December 6th, 2011
Great Doctor! Bad staff!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm a current patient of Dr. Piel's and I think he's great. His office staff however, the ladies at front desk are very rude every time I call. I don't appreciate their tone and I do expect to be treated kindly. I'm seriously considering changing doctors because of his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2011
Care and service
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fantastic service from the front office to the back office! I've been treated at this office for 6 years and I credit Dr. Piel and his nursing staff for my stable health.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2011
P D Smith
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring and personal service..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2011
Excellent compassionate doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent compassionate doctor. Spent a great deal of time with me answering my questions any going over my treatment options. He returned my calls promptly. The nurses in the office and offered me advice and helped me through my chemotherapy. I had a problem with my insurance and they helped to make sure I got all of my benefits. I would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2010
A Lifesaver (Literally!)
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank God for Dr. Piel! As a thirty-something mother of two, it was terrifying and traumatic for me when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Thanks to Dr. Piel and his staff, I am still here today to care for my family.I was referred to Dr. Piel by a friend whose mother was treated by him over 20 years ago. It was very reassuring and important to me to be under the care of an experienced and reputable doctor. Dr. Piel lived up to all of my expectations. He was punctual, professional, compassionate, and best of all, SUCCESSFUL in treating my cancer! I am forever grateful. (P.S. The cheerful staff and yummy snacks made my chemo visits much more tolerable than one might think:)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 1st, 2010
Very Knowledgeable
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Piel took as long as we needed to explain different treatment options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 29th, 2010
A dinosaur
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Pompous. As with many cancer patients, I sought several opinions. Only Dr. Piel's reccomendations varied dramatically from other treatment recommendations. That's scary. Really crabby staff! I won't be seeing him again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ira Piel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Gurnee, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Rakhi Khanna

17 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Leon Sujata

8 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Greg Jun

20 years experience

4.6 of 5