Overall Review

3.7
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.3)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    18%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 35.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2015
Excellent MD
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never had any problems with the medical service on any level, In fact a few years ago, as I have been a patient for over 10 years, I had a severe hernia problem. I needed home healthcare and the service provider was giving me a problem with extending the service. He reprimanded the service provider when calling him as the service provider felt I =no longer needed the service. He was able to have the service extended for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 15th, 2014
Never try this Doctor!! The worst experience.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I strongly suggest, Never try this doctor. The worst doctor/patient relationship. He is very unrespectful/rude/30 seconds consult with a full charge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2014
STAY AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR'S OFFICE
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Iraj Akahavan will give you an appointment any day of the week because he is running a factory of nano-second visits. Scamming the insurance companies!! The wait time is like a hellish eternity. His bedside manner is zero - no patience for the patients!! His receptionists are rude, unprofessional and incompetent. You might drop dead waiting for them to return your calls. FIND ANOTHER PHYSICIAN WHO REALLY CARES!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2014
I've been seeing Dr. Akhavan for many years. He is very important for our communities well being. He is patient, and he answers all of my questions. Excellent doctor and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2014
Doctoral Student
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
An expert and caring, honest and professional. Extremely understanding – highly recommended. ..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 26th, 2011
Great doctor despite the wait
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Akhavan for years because he is patient, answers questions and spends time with me. The downside is, I usually wait at least an hour (at times an hour 1/2) before seeing him. That is my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 29th, 2010
Dennis
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he don't understand the side effects of Simvastatin
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor. Very caring and attentive! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2009
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I recently chose this doctor and I feel I made a good choice. He is attentive and cares about his patients. The office staff is very professional in doing a demanding job. From what I have observed he sees a variety pf patients from theater types to the elderly and everyone in between. I have not had to wait too long so far but he is much in demand so sometimes it may take a while but it isn't asking a lot to get good medical care. Some people have a sense of entitlement and expect immediate attention and others are hypochondriacs who try to see the doctor over every little thing. I can see why he might lose patience with someone like that but I have not experienced any problems and I would recommend this physician to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 19th, 2009
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he's great at diagnosing things
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 17th, 2008
Awful wait time
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
It took me 2.5 hours to see this doctor. I waited, while the nurses kept telling me it would take 15 minutes, etc, which continued for 2.5 hours. Doctor saw me for a total of 2 minutes. Nurses and doctor were not very polite. Doctor told me he'd give me medicine for 2-3 days and proceeded to give me a prescription for 10 days - what does this mean? Would not recommend to anyone who is sick and needs to see a doctor ASAP.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2008
Mean doctor-- not recommended!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an appointment but was was still kept waiting for over an hour. When I did get to see him, he had an angry look on his face and his first words to me were "Well, what do YOU want?". And then he immediately began yelling at me for mentioning that I had tried to do some online research on my condition before coming in for a doctor's visit. He said that anyone who looks online to find out about a condition is an idiot because everything on the internet is false, and then he told me to be quiet and not talk during the visit. He is the rudest doctor I have ever met in my life. I was nearly in tears because of his very unnecessarily mean behavior. And also what he said about my condition makes me think that he hasn't been keeping up with the latest advances in medicine. He is an older doctor, very set in his ways, and I noticed that most of his clientele are elderly. I think he simply doesn't want to bother keeping up with new advancements in medicine. I will definitely not go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Iraj Akhavan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Zobidatte Moussa

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Lavonna Branker

21 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Tupper

38 years experience

4.8 of 5