The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Iraj Akhavan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Iraj Akhavan?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Iraj Akhavan?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 12 Comments

  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
36.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 26 Ratings with 12 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 29th, 2015

Excellent MD

I have never had any problems with the medical service on any level, In fact a few years ago, as I have been a patient for over 10 years, I had a severe hernia problem. I needed home healthcare and the service provider was giving me a problem with extending the service. He reprimanded the service provider when calling him as the service provider felt I =no longer needed the service. He was able to have the service extended for me.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 15th, 2014

Never try this Doctor!! The worst experience.

I strongly suggest, Never try this doctor. The worst doctor/patient relationship. He is very unrespectful/rude/30 seconds consult with a full charge.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2014

STAY AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR'S OFFICE

Dr Iraj Akahavan will give you an appointment any day of the week because he is running a factory of nano-second visits. Scamming the insurance companies!! The wait time is like a hellish eternity. His bedside manner is zero - no patience for the patients!! His receptionists are rude, unprofessional and incompetent. You might drop dead waiting for them to return your calls. FIND ANOTHER PHYSICIAN WHO REALLY CARES!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2014

I've been seeing Dr. Akhavan for many years. He is very important for our communities well being. He is patient, and he answers all of my questions. Excellent doctor and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2014

Doctoral Student

An expert and caring, honest and professional. Extremely understanding – highly recommended. ..

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 26th, 2011

Great doctor despite the wait

I've been seeing Dr. Akhavan for years because he is patient, answers questions and spends time with me. The downside is, I usually wait at least an hour (at times an hour 1/2) before seeing him. That is my only complaint.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 29th, 2010

Dennis

he don't understand the side effects of Simvastatin

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 6th, 2010

Great doctor. Very caring and attentive! Highly recommended.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 16th, 2009

I recently chose this doctor and I feel I made a good choice. He is attentive and cares about his patients. The office staff is very professional in doing a demanding job. From what I have observed he sees a variety pf patients from theater types to the elderly and everyone in between. I have not had to wait too long so far but he is much in demand so sometimes it may take a while but it isn't asking a lot to get good medical care. Some people have a sense of entitlement and expect immediate attention and others are hypochondriacs who try to see the doctor over every little thing. I can see why he might lose patience with someone like that but I have not experienced any problems and I would recommend this physician to anyone.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 19th, 2009

he's great at diagnosing things

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 17th, 2008

Awful wait time

It took me 2.5 hours to see this doctor. I waited, while the nurses kept telling me it would take 15 minutes, etc, which continued for 2.5 hours. Doctor saw me for a total of 2 minutes. Nurses and doctor were not very polite. Doctor told me he'd give me medicine for 2-3 days and proceeded to give me a prescription for 10 days - what does this mean? Would not recommend to anyone who is sick and needs to see a doctor ASAP.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 6th, 2008

Mean doctor-- not recommended!

I had an appointment but was was still kept waiting for over an hour. When I did get to see him, he had an angry look on his face and his first words to me were "Well, what do YOU want?". And then he immediately began yelling at me for mentioning that I had tried to do some online research on my condition before coming in for a doctor's visit. He said that anyone who looks online to find out about a condition is an idiot because everything on the internet is false, and then he told me to be quiet and not talk during the visit. He is the rudest doctor I have ever met in my life. I was nearly in tears because of his very unnecessarily mean behavior. And also what he said about my condition makes me think that he hasn't been keeping up with the latest advances in medicine. He is an older doctor, very set in his ways, and I noticed that most of his clientele are elderly. I think he simply doesn't want to bother keeping up with new advancements in medicine. I will definitely not go back.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Iraj Akhavan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Thomas Tupper

    Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease

    New York, NY 0.06 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    39
  • Dr. John Matos

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0.07 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    11
  • Dr. Jason Brucker

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0.11 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    6