Dr. Irene Gurvits MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

2.9
  • 45 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

2.4 (-0.5)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    33%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    44%
  • Wait Time 39.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
November 28th, 2016
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2016
the greateat Dr. that I ever had for 12 years of my life
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a former patient of Dr. guervitz and i miss her very much. She is understanding and always gives you your due time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2016
Anonymous
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Quite possibly the worst physiatrist in NYC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2015
A doctor who'll help you in a real way. No BS.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you're looking to cry about your horrible life, Dr. Gurvits isn't for you. If you're looking for a doctor who gets to know you and works with you to help you help yourself, she's an excellent doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 10th, 2015
Good doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She gets the job done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2015
Stay away....you've been warned!
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
The worst! Does more harm than good. Doesn't care what the patient thinks. Cut off the meds I've been taking that lifted my depression. Should lose her license to practice medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 19th, 2015
Horror show!!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She either MISSES APPOINTMENTS completely (and doesn't call to apologize or follow up), or keeps you waiting an hour or more. Her staff does not know who has an appointment and who doesn't. She yells at her staff , patients yell at her, she loses paperwork, allows patients to smoke in her office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 12th, 2015
Remember where you are
I went to this doctor expecting the worst after reading all the comments. The doctor was great. She was professional, competent and willing to listen. The doctor wasn't the problem. Several of her patients were in and out of the office and they were rude and disruptive and demanding. You are going to see a psychiatrist and that means she does see some sick people. Take what you read here with a grain of salt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 26th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
horrible!! Don't go to her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2011
Incompetent, with Ego Issues
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She's incompetent! Worse yet, she has such an ego problem that she disagreed with my prior doctor's medication simply to prove that high-paid doctors who don't take insurance are no more qualified than her. She seems to care and went well over the allotted time. Clearly, it's not all about the money for her - especially given the fact that she knew I would not return based on her conclusion that I do not have ADD. So she spent over an hour with me to investigate whether my prior diagnosis was accurate. She concluded that I could not have ADD because I did well in college and law school!! She was oblivious to all of the coping mechanisms I had discovered to get through school, all of which were classic ADD symptoms. The ironic part is that she admits to not being an ADD specialist - yet she was sure she knew more than previous doctor who has treated me for over 20 years. I was only switching due to financial issues and a change in insurance which meant that I got zero reimbursement for out of network doctors. She was also extremely unprofessional - she sits behind desk doing internet research as you talk - presumably for diagnostic purposes. And the forms she makes you sign are overreaching and not like any I've seen before. Avoid her at all costs!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2011
Should Have Her License Revoked!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After waiting over an hour and half Dr. Gurvits was available to see me. I walked into a smoke filled office and sat for the next half and hour with little more than a blank stare from the Dr. I am not too sure if she was out of it or what. She was rude and unprofessional to say the least.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2011
AfWeh
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very awful doctor. Careless, inattentive, rude.I waited for an hour, my appointment lasted for 23 minutes, ending with Dr. Gurvits saying that she refuses to treat me, accusing me in attempt to conceal information, when, in fact, due to a long period of time, I couldn't remember the information she was asking for. She was demeaning and insulting, preoccupied for the first ten minutes of the meeting and then too busy ridiculing me and my experience at a hospital for the rest, after dismissing me very rudely and announcing to her staff: refund her co-pay, I will not be treating her. I have never been treated in this awful manner before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Irene Gurvits, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Wendy Moyal

10 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Richard Perry

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michelle Merrill

13 years experience

5.0 of 5