inactive

Dr. Irving Gottfried MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Monroeville, PA

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 21 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.7)

21 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    43%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    14%
  • Bad
    29%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 35.2 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Unprofessional!
I would not recommend Dr.Gottfried to anyone! unacceptable behavior ... being in the medical field. a DOCTOR!..i have left 3 messages with his medical staff for him to call me back.. on what is he going to do for my 83 dad?? the Dr. discovered my dad has a twisted stomach, put my dad on clear liquid diet, as i thought.. till the next step, ..so we are going on 13 days no food for my dad, yes.. we made him nutritional smoothies, not enough...he is a diabetic, Dad got light headed i thought he was going in sugar shock.. his stomach is hurting, 3 times i called the Dr. No response back, his office says he reads the notes, but to me obviously he doesn't care about his patients, if this was his 83 yr old father would he treat him like this?! i pray not... i am a very patient person, but who is hurting??! my dad! I did talk to the Dr's office manager he apologized to me and understood why i am so upset.. so think twice about this Dr. i canceled my procedures i was to have with him.. found me another Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 29th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gottfried was very nice. Asked questions n listened. Staff is very friendly. Called back with results n following up on patients was very good. Yes. I would recommend this doctor to my family/ friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great treatment. Speedy with results. Very knowledgable. Would recommend over other GIs I've seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 8th, 2016
Seek care elsewhere!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've seen many doctors I would rate as average, that all were superior to Dr. Gottfried. I had extensive testing done and the staff and doctor do not bother to deliver results, and when you hound them for the results, their delivery of serious news is awful! Look elsewhere for good care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor has zero bedside manner. If you need a doctor who is easy to talk to, he's not your man. Dry, aloof and treated me just like another number. While I did not want to be best friends with my doctor, I do need to feel he cares.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2014
Lucky to be alive
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did an endoscopy on my mom. Placed stints in the wrong place. He actually poked a hole through her small intestine and she had to be life flighted to another hospital. She's lucky to be alive. Worst doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2010
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gottfried was one of the very best doctors I have ever met. He was genuinely concerned about his patients' health and well-being and I am very distressed that he has left Virginia. He diagnosed me with Crohn's in 1987 and has been not only my doctor, but my friend since then. Since he has left VA, I have not found another gastroenterologist who measures up to his high standards. I will keep looking, but it will be hard for anyone to take his place.

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this doctor took the time to review my old records, discuss my current medical problems, and devised a plan of dignosis and treatment with my husband and I. I have never had a doctor take the time to do this. He was very thourgh and professional. I have sent several of my friends to see him and all had the same expierence
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 22nd, 2010
Awful Glad he got the boot
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Poor bedside manner. Very dissmissive, and when try to explain my problem he cut me off and wouldn't let me talk and walked out! Glad he's gone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2010
A Superior, Caring Physician
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He treated my COPD effectively for more than 20 years. He once came off vacation to oversee my routine admission to the hospital. You won't find many doctors who would do that. He cares.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2010
dr gottfried is the best farmville hospital get him back.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr gottfried MD. has been my dr. for around 20 years now the hospital is giving him the boot. SOUTH SIDE HOSPITAL IN FARMVILLE va. MUST DON'T WOUNT ANY DR. anymore. I will have to find another dr. PLEASE get DR. Gottfried Back SCH.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Irving Gottfried, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Monroeville, PA.