Dr. Ivar Szper MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.3
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Wait Time 14.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 21st, 2016
sub-dural hematoma
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Puts you at ease but very straight forward about the condition, the surgery and the recovery process. Takes his time and provides the information you need to make decisions regarding your treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2016
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not be walking without Dr Szper
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a microdiscectomy on my lower back (L5S1) in 1984. Dr Szper said he could not make me 100% better, but I would be 90% after surgery. I will have to say today I am 100% with no lingering problems. In the 2-3 years post surgery it could be said I was only 90% better but that gradually improved and I have no residual back pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an excellent doctor. He spent time to explain all my concerns. The procedure result was better than expected.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 13th, 2015
L4-L5 Microdiscectomy
Dr. Szper was very straight forward and completely honest. I believe he did a great job with my microdiscectomy. But that doesn't mean I would advise everyone to do it, it's a very personal choice to do the surgery and you will have to live with the outcome. Let me describe mine. I had a clear cut herniated L4-L5. I limped badly for a year before seeking medical help, I also had no back pain. After everything was said and done, I was in Szpers office debating a microdiscectomy. After another consultation, a 2nd opinion from another neurosurgeon, and much debating, I did it. The outcome was this, the first 6 months post surgery was awful, sciatica was worse and now my lower back felt even more weak and painful than ever. Within another 6 months the sciatica went 90% away but I had a new weakened feeling and pain in my back that I hadn't had before. Exercise can alleviate most of this but it's a rollercoaster with some good months followed by some bad weeks and back and forth. As for my level of activity, I do a lot of hiking, backpacking, rock climbing/mountaineering, and canyoneering. The key is to stay active, drink a lot of water. If I don't do any outdoor activity for a month I fall apart and cant get out of bed without whining a lot about my back. If I do moderate exercise and train for an outing then my back feels pretty darn good. If you are on the fence about surgery, I recommend looking in a mirror and judging your level of activity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Was very open, honest in his opinion and professional. Glad we came to him for an opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2014
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Szper is the best in his field, I had surgery a month ago and I feel really good. His staff is very professional, courteous and caring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 11th, 2011
He left me a mess after surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ater almost 7 years when he opend me up on an operation that took almost 16 hours.He changed my life for the worsed.I can hardly walk anymore,put on a shirt,or evan hold a drink.This so called doctor has made my life miserable.IVAR SZPER should be disbared from cutting and opening up another human being.Who knows how many other innocent people he's destroying.I don't know how he can look in the mirror or evan sleep at night.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 25th, 2009
Choose This Doctor!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Szper is awesome. Very down to earth and an excellent surgeon! Changed my husband's life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ivar Szper, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Long Beach, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Judith Wong

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Abraham Rayhaun

26 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Hooshang Pak

43 years experience

4.3 of 5