The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jack Bowling Jr Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jack Bowling Jr?

Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia

Get the facts about fibromyalgia, including the symptoms and conditions that may be related to it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jack Bowling Jr?

Ratings and Reviews

50 Ratings with 18 Comments

  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
30.4 min

Showing 50 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2017

Great Doctor

You can tell he loves his patients. His staff is very nice and helpful.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2017

Excellent Dr.

Dr. Bowling took time during my appointments to talk me through the hip replacement I needed. The front incision was the newest type of surgery for hip replacement and I'm glad that he was in Wilmington for me to have it done. People from other states come to have him do their replacements. Excellent Dr.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 6th, 2016

Wonderful, caring doctor

Dr. Bowling is not only competent & thorough, but he spends as much time with me as I need to understand what my problem is and the various ways it can be treated. I have never felt that he used a "cookie cutter" method, but that he considered my life style and other health problems in suggesting what might be done to alleviate my pain, both short term and long term. He considers surgery as one of the alternatives, but does not rush his patients into the operating room just because he is an orthopedic surgeon. He is always friendly and pleasant.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2016

Awesome Surgeon

I have had to have both of my hips replaced and Dr. Bowling took excellent care of me both times. His office staff was kind and courteous. I had short wait times at all of my appointments. All in all I had the best care available anywhere and if I ever need to, I will definitely go back again!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2016

Couldn't be happier with my results.

My experience was great Recovery time and pain level so much better than I expected. Physical Therapy was much less painful than expected. The technique Dr. Bowling uses is much less invasive, recovery time is shorter and end result is much better than quite a few other people I know who have had replacement surgery done by other physicians. I would highly recommend Dr. Bowling to anyone needing this surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 30th, 2016

Patient

Not happy. Saw Dr. Bowling on my first visit and in the eight months following I got passed off to the PAs. I am worse off now. Should have stayed with Ortho-Wilminton!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2015

Top drawer, Best of the Best Double incision the only way to go.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2014

Dr. Bowling is the best.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 13th, 2014

Would not recommend - cancelled appointments, rudeness of staff are not things that I can tolerate!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

November 14th, 2014

Excellent Surgeon----Poor Office Management

Compassionate, excellent surgical skills. Unfortunately, dealing with his office management is a nightmare. Lack of communication no follow-up,messages not answered or returned.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 8th, 2014

overextended practice

Three month appt waits for current patients with serious complications from his surgery. He cancelled on me a few days before one post op appt and I had to wait another 3 months to get another appt. Three-hour office waits were routine. Difficulty and attitude getting records for second opinion elsewhere. I have what appears to be a failed replacement surgery but have to go elsewhere to find out what is going on because I cannot wait another three months for another 5 minute brush-off. He had a stellar word-of mouth reputation but seems to have devolved into a "quantity over quality" practice.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 8th, 2013

a
Wait time
5 minutes
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jack Bowling Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Wilmington, NC.

  • Dr. Andrew Simpson

    Dr. Andrew Simpson

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wilmington, NC 0.05 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    16
  • Dr. Derrick Hickey

    Dr. Derrick Hickey

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand, Plastic Surgery, General Surgery

    Wilmington, NC 0.05 mi

    4.2
    (27)
    21
  • Dr. Dale Boyd Jr

    Dr. Dale Boyd Jr

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Wilmington, NC 1.46 mi

    4.4
    (39)
    32