The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jacob Lau Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jacob Lau?

Metastatic Melanoma

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jacob Lau?

Ratings and Reviews

42 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    35
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    35
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
6.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 42 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 29th, 2016

Outstanding Dr

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 16th, 2016

Wrong Diagnosis

While being seen by Dr. Lau for years, I developed a skin growth that was discounted by him as benign. Dr. Lau told me “it’s too slow growing to be cancer so don’t worry.” Eventually I was advised by another doctor to have the growth removed ASAP because it looked very suspicious. The growth was cancerous and because it grew for so long, it required significant radiation in addition to surgery. The radiation has caused me many health problems all because of Dr. Lau’s wrong diagnosis. After surgery, I tried to make an appointment with Dr. Lau because I wanted him on my growing “cancer team” of doctors, but he told me (through his assistant) he didn’t want to see me at that time and wanted me to make an appointment in 6-8 weeks. Needless to say, today I see another dermatologist who actually knows what cancerous growths look like.

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 11th, 2015

Great Dermatologist!!!

Very smart and thorough doctor. Kind and takes care of his patients.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 14th, 2013

Please look elsewhere! Awful...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2011

Dr. Lau has been a great dermatologist in treating my eczema. He has been patient with trying different medications, including suggestions on dietary changes to help minimize my eczema outbreaks. His staff is courteous, and when I have had questions or concerns, his staff, nurse or Dr. Lau have always returned my calls promptly-always by the end of the business day that I have called.I was highly recommend to Dr. Lau by my aesthetician, and I highly recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 15th, 2011

Caring intelligent knowlegeable concerned family man-the BEST

After going 20 plus years with severe harsh psoriasis covering 80+-% of my body I'm at 7% because of this man. No help from several other dematologist-(common diagnosis from new derm dr's "what are you doing for that" "How's that working out") Not this man. He is the cream of the crop. He knows the new medications and how to get them for you for free. Not an arrogant bone in his body. NEVER a long wait to see him. I've been clear (7%) for years-Now thanks to him I'm free of narcotic pain meds I've been taking for 20 years. A man of principles and concern for your overall well being. He treats me like a friend. Smartest guy I've ever met. You got lucky you found him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2009

Quality Dermatologist

Dr. Lau is a wonderful doctor. He is generous with his time and thoroughly explains the diagnoses and treatment. I would recommend him to anyone searching for a quality doctor.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 1st, 2017

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jacob Lau is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oxnard, CA.

  • Dr. Andrew Cattano

    Dr. Andrew Cattano

    Dermatology, Dermatopathology

    Oxnard, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    50
  • Dr. Paul Rehder

    Dermatology, Dermatopathology, Pediatrics

    Oxnard, CA 0.01 mi

    3.9
    (33)
    44
  • Dr. Victoria Chiu

    Dr. Victoria Chiu

    Dermatology

    Oxnard, CA 0.01 mi

    3.2
    (3)
    10