The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Akin Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

52 Ratings • 28 Comments

3.3
  • 23
  • 2
  • 5
  • 7
  • 15

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Akin Jr?

Showing 12 of 52 Ratings

Dr. Aiken and his st..

Posted on October 10th, 2016

Dr. Aiken and his staff are phenomenal. Without him, we wouldn't be expecting our little nugget and would still have questions as to why fertility was a struggle for us.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not being able to co..

Posted on July 20th, 2016

Not being able to conceive is the most frustrating experience we have ever encountered. Despite kind words from friends and family, there is no true understanding unless you actually go through those challenges. We were told we would not be able to have children without the assistance of fertility treatment, which brought us to Dr. Akin and his team. They were kind and patient with us, and now, a few months later, we are thrilled to be able to share the news that we are expecting! Our family would not have been possible without Dr. Akin and his staff. He and his nurses are knowledgeable, and his staff is one of the friendliest I have encountered in a physician's office.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible terrible doctor's office

Posted on July 13th, 2016

My wife and I had the worst experience with this doctor. He's insensitive, unorganized, and doesn't care about his patients. He prescribed my wife an antidepressant instead of clomid and told her to take double the dose. Thankfully we caught it and got it fixed. Every appointment he told us to come in for he never put on the schedule so we had to wait forever to get to see him and when we did get to see him he was insensitive. Didn't explain anything, and treated the whole thing like a chore he had to do. We are switching to Dr. Aiken who we have heard great reviews from. Regardless he can't be worse than this guy. I would've done zero stars if I could've.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I had a great experi..

Posted on April 6th, 2016

I had a great experience with Dr. Akin and staff. They were very attentive to my needs and took the time needed to ensure my questions were answered.

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 29th, 2016

Dr. Akin and staff were incredibly kind to us. Really did love the office, however with multiple rounds of IVF none of our embryos ever took and unfortunately Dr. Akin was unable to give us a reason why. Went to another fertility clinic and within minutes our new doctor diagnosed me with polycystic ovary syndrome. Extremely common and obvious. Was very disappointed, a lot of money and heartbreak we went through when I could of been treated from the get go. Unfortunately we would not recommend this office. Luckily at the new fertility clinic we are expecting our first child!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 19th, 2016

Suffering through infertility is an incredibly sad and stressful time in so many ways. Don't waste your time and hard earned money on a Dr. who really does not "care".

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 17th, 2015

I recently had surgery for a large uterine fibroid. Dr Akin and his staff were wonderful! He's a good dr who is honest and gets to the point. When I had appointments in the office there was hardly any wait. And he always asked if I had any questions before he would leave.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 8th, 2015

Dr. Akin has been really kind and patient with us; and always explains everything every step of the way. We just did our first IUI (I feel like was more of a trial run, to see how my body responds), and while I don't anticipate it being successful, I cannot stress enough how great Dr. Akin has been through the process, as well as his staff. He's always timely, his staff is so friendly, and he answers any question I have.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional Doctor and Staff!

Posted on January 30th, 2015

Dr. Akin and his staff are exceptional. They have become an extension of our immediate family and I cannot stress enough how much their care has meant to my husband and I.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on July 14th, 2014

I received the best treatment/services from Dr. Akin and his staff, over the past two years. I had seen 2 other fertility doctors prior to visiting Dr. Akin, and did not get the warm welcome and personal interaction that I received from Dr. Akin and his staff. I would definitely recommend Dr. Akin to anyone seeking fertility treatments. I wish that I could maintain him as my general OB/GYN doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful

Posted on July 12th, 2014

From the first visit to the office to today the last I have been extremely satisfied with my treatment and care. Everyone in the office is super nice and friendly. Jessica is always a pleasure to deal with, and Gail and Lisa always answered my questions no matter how many times I bugged them. I also found Sarah fun to talk to. And Dr. Akin was always very friendly and knowledgeable. I truly cannot thank you all enough!!!! You all do a wonderful job.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on April 30th, 2014

Dr akin and the staff were great. They were there anytime to answer any questions I had and made me feel comfortable with everything I went through. I would highly recommend Dr Akin.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Akin Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lexington, KY.