Dr. James Alvis MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Norman, OK

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.0)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    38%
  • Great
    17%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    29%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 20.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alvis, saved me. He has done several procedures plus 4 back surgeries. I absolutely would not use anyone else. I highly recommend him to anyone that needs his expertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Alvis was attentive until after the surgery, I found out later my problem had nothing to do with the fusion he performed, at that at the time was unnecessary. Over medication was his follow-up help, he didn't bother to see you, his response was "let me refill your medication". I would not recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been using Dr Alvis for 7 years, and he is very accurate on his diagnosis. I have had 3 spinal surgeries, and after each one, have had dramatic improvement. I would highly recommend him to anyone with back or neck problems. He is a straight shooter, and does not use "medical speak".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr. alvis was very immediate to help me. he got me right into the hospital and was very helpful after my suregery
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2011
run from this guy
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
doubt this guy could be an assistant manager at McDonald's. have seen 4 other neurosurgeons and the waiting time is 6 to 8 weeks when I was able to get in in 8 working days I was concerned but it was a simple diagnosis was there for a 3rd opinion and he screwed it up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2011
messed me up
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alvis was referred by my primary care physician, and they are good friends. He has pamphlets for Dr. Alvis all over his office. I had degenerative disc disease, so I had an operation. Within two months, he had to go back in and fix a spinal fluid leak that was caused by the initial operation. About a year later, he found more spinal fluid when he looked at the last MRI. So that was the third surgery I had. I am now worse off than I was before he ever cut on me. I will have to be on pain management for the rest of my life. I know he did not intend for this to happen, but he always acted like he didn't care. He also seemed to rush through all my appointments. He was never in the office with me more than five minutes. It would have been nice for him to act like he cared even a little bit, or showed any amount of concern for me since I had two spinal fluid leaks that he had to repair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2010
rrarsisoDr. Alvis is very knowledgeable about his field, his diagnoses are spot on. Would highly recommemend to friends and family!!;
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2009
Great Doc but he is at Community Hospital now on SW 89th, OKC
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 27th, 2017

4.0 of 5
February 27th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Alvis, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Norman, OK.