The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Bakeman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Bakeman?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Bakeman?

Ratings and Reviews

30 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    18
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    18
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 30 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2017

Stay away for this doctor!

I can't really say one good thing about my experience with DR Bakeman. Over an hour late for every appointment, three hours plus late for the surgery, always rushed because he is over booked, my knee is much worse off than before the surgery and he doesn't care or have any thoughts about trying to make your knee better. No rehab or anything.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 10th, 2017

Do not see this doctor

I had a very bad experience with DR Bakeman and feel he cares very little about his patients after the surgery. Probably the worse mistake letting this doctor operate on me. Please think twice about seeing this doctor for any reason. Also, every appointment I had to wait a at least an hour or more. The day of the surgery he was over 3 1/2 hours late and was very rushed when he saw me pre and post surgery. I think it's all greed.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 30th, 2017

Full hip replacement

Two years ago with no complications.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2011

Dr. Bakeman explained things very well, there were no surprises and things turned out as he said they would.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 12th, 2011

Knee surgery

After being referred to Dr. Bakeman by my family doctor, I found him to be very professional and proficient. He explained the options, performed the necessary procedure and I was quickly back to work without pain.A very successful treatment.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 2nd, 2011

Don't expect too much

He is all interested in you .... until....after the surgery. Then just don't even try to bother him. He is done with you.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2010

mr

Totally wrong diagnoses, based on a second opinion and a MRI which Dr Bakeman refused to authorize. Dr Bakeman would not listen to what I had to say. Even after calling him back to the exam room (after waiting 20+ minutes) and again explaining my case.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2016

1.0 Rating

October 14th, 2016

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Bakeman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Grand Rapids, MI.

  • Dr. Daniel Patton

    Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Grand Rapids, MI 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    7
  • Dr. Bernard Maupin

    Dr. Bernard Maupin

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Grand Rapids, MI 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    41
  • Dr. Thomas Hearty

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Grand Rapids, MI 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    14