Dr. James Balserak MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Tucson, AZ

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 11.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2017
Awesome
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best! Not only is he the best general surgeon but he is compassionate and every patient is treated like a family member. There are not words sufficient to describe his skill and expertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 29th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Balserak removed 2 parathyroid glands 3 weeks ago , he called me the day after surgery to make sure all was well as did the nurse at the surgery center ...he's a great Dr and I would highly recommend him to anyone have this surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2016
Parathyroid Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My surgery went so well. Dr. Balserak is prompt, intelligent, kind, and truly a wonderful surgeon. I will be forever grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Really liked him on initial visit. He will be doing my surgery. Have the utmost faith him after just one visit. Very easy to talk to. Explains what he will be doing in terms that a lay person can understand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had 2 operations by Dr. Balserak and I have recommended him to my friends. I think he is an excellent surgeon .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His bed side manner was wonderful.. So nice so thoural and very up beat and confident.. I would highly recommend him to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2016
Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Excellent surgeon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 1st, 2013
Thankful to Dr. Balserak
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balserak has been a blessing to me. He was very knowledgeable, kind, caring, explaining and answering all my questions-- most of all skilled at my parathyroid disease and surgery. I have involved medical issues with pacemaker. Dr. Balerak did my surgery removing several parathyroids with out any problems. I did not hardly have any pain- no pain medications was needed, returned to work the second day after surgery. He explained any possible post-surgery problems that could occur and how to care for them ( I had no problems). As a nurse I wanted the best surgeon I could find and I am thankful to Br. Balserak that I have my life back, can't believe how much better I already feel-cause the symptoms I had prior to surgery really had diminished my quality of life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 18th, 2011
Follow up poor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balserak did my surgery which seemed to go fine but pain and problems I tried to get addressed and helped after the surgery were very hard to come by. Poor follow up and return of calls wouldn't happen until after repeated trys by me. He seemed way too busy to help after the fact and when reached seemed to think everything he did was fine and there shouldn't be any problems even though there were and still are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 20th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He performed a parathyroidectomy on me. His surgical skills are fine. But his followup is non-existent. I had complications with my calcium level post surgery and ended up in the E.R. two days post surgery because he and/or his staff did not followup on my phone calls. He was paged twice to call me and he did not. He never monitored my calcium level post surgery and I had a lot of serious symptoms due to that. I would not recommend him unless you have someone in the wings to do your followup care.

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2010
Questionable
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balserak did not ever see me in his office. Dismissed the first diagnosis made by another Dr. which proved to be correct. He spent maybe a total of 10 minutes with me, which I feel is the reason he was not fully prepared for my surgery in which I almost did not survive. If you read his surgical procedures on Southwestern Surgery website he has obviously chosen to forget that all his surgeries have not been trouble free, and that he has had to convert from larascopy to traditional surgery. Wish I had read that before, would have thought twice about him. Since he claims he had never had to convert maybe he's forgotten how to do it and may the reason he botched my surgery and has forever horribly changed my life! Good luck and I say get a second opinion before going with him. Don't let the charm and twinkling blue eyes fool you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2010
Lymph Node Removal
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Balserak for a swollen lymph node. He eased the atmosphere through conversation and thoughtfully examined my lymph node (in effort to evaluate if surgery was the best course of action). We both agreed that completely removing the node was a better decision than just a biopsy. His general demeanor in this first appointment projected confidence in being able to preform the operation with ease and minimal discomfort all the while being sympathetic to my condition. Although the Tucson Surgical Center "atmosphere" was a little dated, the attitude of the employees certainly made up for this. The nurses made an effort to ensure the comfort of everyone around, even smiling when I wheeled into the OR. The surgery itself went smoothly and no discomfort. I highly recommend Dr. Balserak.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Balserak, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tucson, AZ.