ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Balserak Is this you?
  • 34
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
11.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Balserak?


41 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 13th, 2017

Awesome

He is the best! Not only is he the best general surgeon but he is compassionate and every patient is treated like a family member. There are not words sufficient to describe his skill and expertise.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2016

Dr Balserak removed 2 parathyroid glands 3 weeks ago , he called me the day after surgery to make sure all was well as did the nurse at the surgery center ...he's a great Dr and I would highly recommend him to anyone have this surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2016

Parathyroid Surgery

My surgery went so well. Dr. Balserak is prompt, intelligent, kind, and truly a wonderful surgeon. I will be forever grateful.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2016

Really liked him on initial visit. He will be doing my surgery. Have the utmost faith him after just one visit. Very easy to talk to. Explains what he will be doing in terms that a lay person can understand.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 26th, 2016

I have had 2 operations by Dr. Balserak and I have recommended him to my friends. I think he is an excellent surgeon .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2016

His bed side manner was wonderful.. So nice so thoural and very up beat and confident.. I would highly recommend him to everyone!!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2016

Excellent Surgeon

Excellent surgeon!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2013

Thankful to Dr. Balserak

Dr. Balserak has been a blessing to me. He was very knowledgeable, kind, caring, explaining and answering all my questions-- most of all skilled at my parathyroid disease and surgery. I have involved medical issues with pacemaker. Dr. Balerak did my surgery removing several parathyroids with out any problems. I did not hardly have any pain- no pain medications was needed, returned to work the second day after surgery. He explained any possible post-surgery problems that could occur and how to care for them ( I had no problems). As a nurse I wanted the best surgeon I could find and I am thankful to Br. Balserak that I have my life back, can't believe how much better I already feel-cause the symptoms I had prior to surgery really had diminished my quality of life.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 18th, 2011

Follow up poor

Dr. Balserak did my surgery which seemed to go fine but pain and problems I tried to get addressed and helped after the surgery were very hard to come by. Poor follow up and return of calls wouldn't happen until after repeated trys by me. He seemed way too busy to help after the fact and when reached seemed to think everything he did was fine and there shouldn't be any problems even though there were and still are.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 20th, 2010

He performed a parathyroidectomy on me. His surgical skills are fine. But his followup is non-existent. I had complications with my calcium level post surgery and ended up in the E.R. two days post surgery because he and/or his staff did not followup on my phone calls. He was paged twice to call me and he did not. He never monitored my calcium level post surgery and I had a lot of serious symptoms due to that. I would not recommend him unless you have someone in the wings to do your followup care.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 16th, 2010

Questionable

Dr. Balserak did not ever see me in his office. Dismissed the first diagnosis made by another Dr. which proved to be correct. He spent maybe a total of 10 minutes with me, which I feel is the reason he was not fully prepared for my surgery in which I almost did not survive. If you read his surgical procedures on Southwestern Surgery website he has obviously chosen to forget that all his surgeries have not been trouble free, and that he has had to convert from larascopy to traditional surgery. Wish I had read that before, would have thought twice about him. Since he claims he had never had to convert maybe he's forgotten how to do it and may the reason he botched my surgery and has forever horribly changed my life! Good luck and I say get a second opinion before going with him. Don't let the charm and twinkling blue eyes fool you!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 7th, 2010

Lymph Node Removal

I was referred to Dr. Balserak for a swollen lymph node. He eased the atmosphere through conversation and thoughtfully examined my lymph node (in effort to evaluate if surgery was the best course of action). We both agreed that completely removing the node was a better decision than just a biopsy. His general demeanor in this first appointment projected confidence in being able to preform the operation with ease and minimal discomfort all the while being sympathetic to my condition. Although the Tucson Surgical Center "atmosphere" was a little dated, the attitude of the employees certainly made up for this. The nurses made an effort to ensure the comfort of everyone around, even smiling when I wheeled into the OR. The surgery itself went smoothly and no discomfort. I highly recommend Dr. Balserak.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Balserak is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tucson, AZ.

  • Dr. Thomas Harmon

    Dr. Thomas Harmon

    General Surgery

    Tucson, AZ 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    30
  • Dr. Katie Artz

    Dr. Katie Artz

    General Surgery

    Tucson, AZ 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (26)
    17
  • Dr. Stefanie Schluender

    Dr. Stefanie Schluender

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Tucson, AZ 0.01 mi

    4.3
    (30)
    18