Dr. James Dozier MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Fort Wayne, IN

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

22 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    64%
  • Great
    9%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband had a surgery scheduled - not really explained to us very well. When we were in the hospital ready to go back, we stated that we were planning on having him return to work on Monday - the surgery was the Thursday prior. His response was 'well that is a little aggressive, but I am all for someone going back to work'. That was his opportunity to explain that the surgery was a laminectomy and that recovery is 6 weeks. No word. We found out that an EMG test should have probably been performed before the surgery to see where there may be possible nerve damage. Surgery on L4 and L5, no relief of nerve pain in anterior right thigh. EMG ordered by family doc and showed issues with L2 and L3. Now we are having another surgery, but not with Dozier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 8th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dozier recently removed a brain tumor from me. Being in the medical field, I never expect much bedside manner from a surgeon, however, Dr. Dozier took his time, explained exactly what he was going to do, updated my family as needed, and asked at every visit, "Do you have any questions for me?" I would highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2014
My back surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A friend of mine is having back problems, and I just looked to see if Dr. Dozier was still in Ft. Wayne. I found him and was VERY, VERY disappointed to read the 2 reviews that were not positive! In fact, I found them hard to believe! I have nothing but the highest respect for Dr. Dozier. He did my spinal surgery a few years ago (herniated and pinched disk) and I would go back to him in a heartbeat! Very professional and kind, perfect bedside manners, and an accurate diagnosis. My family and best friend all felt the same way. I will certainly be recommending him to my friend. And if I ever have any more problems, I will go straight back to him. He's a good man, a great doctor and fantastic surgeon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2013
Can you get less human
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I recently ruptured 2 disks in my neck. Dr. Dozier walked over to me pulled on my arms, and asked what I was here for. I asked him what he thought I should do and he replied "Im a surgen. Thats what I do." I asked what other options I had and he stated "get physical therapy" and walked out of the room. He has NO people skills, and expects everyone to know what happened to them. I have never had a broken bone, er visit, or anything. I was scared out of my mind. I switched doctors pronto!! What a joke.!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 19th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Appt was a total waste of time and money. Dr Dozier didn't listen when I tried to explain my symptoms just kept saying they didn't match the MRI He then ordered more X-rays and another MRI and when I asked the nurse how to schedule the next appt she looked surprised and said if he wanted to see me his office would call. I then asked if the X-rays and MRI would even be sent to his office since I was in a satellite office and she said she could request they be sent to him if I wanted! Why order test that he had no intention of reviewing?! He never explained what the first MRI even showed and when I asked a simple question if there was a LESS powerful pain med I could switch to he replied "take a hot shower". I would never recommend Dr Dozier and will be scheduling further appts with a different physicians group. I am extremely dissatisfied that I had to wait 6 weeks for this appt and learned nothing about my condition.

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2011
Saved My Mom's life
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dozier is wonderful. He just did brain surgery on my mom who had a very Massive Brain Turmor. She is doing wonderful. With so many things that could have went wrong we are so blessed that God worked through this amazing man. I recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
November 24th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Dozier, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fort Wayne, IN.