Anesthesiology, Pain Medicine
7 years of experience

Accepting new patients
6309 E Baywood Ave
Mesa, AZ 85206
480-325-3801
Locations and availability (3)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.0
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

18

Total Reviews

13

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.8888888888889 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.9444444444444 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.7777777777778 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.8333333333333 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.8333333333333 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 7 minutes
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Daniel M, Tate  |  show details
Oct 25th, 2011

Dr. Chien was exceptionally professional and polite. He listened to my concerns and explained thorougly the diagnosis in terms that I could understand. He explained the treatment and expected outcomes. He also allowed me to determine the extent of the treatment as I was able to resolve my pain issues without completing the full treatment plan as my pain issue was resolved after only two of the three injections prescribed. I am thoroughly pleased with the care I received from Dr. Chien and feel compelled to also commend the staff at The Desert Pain institute. Both those involved in the epidural injection center and the physical therapists were courteous, compassionate and truly seemed to be concerned with my personal well being. I can give my most unreserved recommendation to the doctor and entire staff at The Desert Pain Insitute. I would like to extend my heartfelt thank you to them for resolving my pain issues and allowing me to return to my normal activities.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 21st, 2011

An Excellent doctor. Dr. Chien is very caring and does totally "know his stuff". My back will never be normal, but thanks to Dr. Chien, I can live a, relatively, pain-free life.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 22nd, 2011

We couldn't have had a better and more caring doctor.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 18th, 2011

Very professional.Shows concern for my health and well being. Invites follow-up comments to measure effectiveness of treatment. Nothing but admiration for the Desert Pain Center.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 18th, 2011

Dr. Chien...Extremely professional, kind, and empathic. His office is a well-oiled machine, which also speaks to Dr. Chien's professionalism. I would (and have) recommend him to any age set for care.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 22nd, 2011

Dr. Chien diagnosed (correctly) my problems and began immediate treatment. He explained everything to me and never "talked down" to me during our many sessions. His manner made me very comfortable and he was patient with my many questions.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  What an incredible physician Dr. Chien is !!!!!  |  show details
May 29th, 2011

I was referred to DR. James Chien for a condition called "radiculopathy" in my left arm. He did a complete history of my symptoms as to when they began, what did I experience in relation to the pain, how often did they occur, how intense was the pain, where did the pain originate and where id it radiate to, etc. At this initial visit he reviewed the films I brought with me (a cervical MRI). we discussed different options and set up a treatment plan for me. From the very moment i met Dr. Chien I was impressed with his range of knowledge and with his compassion and genuine comcern/desire to relieve me of my discomfort. He went ahead and did an initial cervical injection with cortisone. We then scheduled a second injection for two weeks later. When he visited me pre-op he wanted to know how the first injection had impacted my pain. Unfortunately, there had been no relief. I was still in a SIGNIFICANT amount of discomfort. He suggested that I increase my dosage of Neurontin for the nerve pain (giving me a new/stronger prescription) as well as giving me a script for a non narcotic pain reliever (Tramadol) to hepefully minimize my restlessness caused by the nerve impingement. He was soooooooooooo genuine in his concern for my comfort that i wanted to hug him. We proceed with the second injection that day. After tha,t a third one was scheduled for a few weeks later. At that visit he saw me first in his office to evaluate the results of the two pain blocks. Unfortunately, I had not received any noticeable improvement in my symptome or pain level. Rather than proceed with a third block that morning Dr.Chien chose to cancel the procedure and said that, while he has so hoped that the blocks would lesson my discomfort, he did not feel that it would benefit me to have a third injection. I am an RN in an outpatient surgery center in Mesa, Az. where we do the very same injections. While some of our doctors would do just as Dr. Chien had chosen for me (in NOT doing a third injection), just as many would proceed to continue with the nerve blocks despite the fact that there had been no improvement for their patient. I VERY much respected him for making the right decision for me --- if I hadn'r received any noticeable relief with the first two then it was not likely that a third one would be of benifit to me. i am MOST happy to have met Dr. James Chien and would certainly HIGHLY recommend him to anyone that may benefit from his professional expertiece. He is a VERRRRRY caring physician and my only disappoointment is that he can not be my primary care physician as he is so very knowledgeable and empathetic (a somewhat diminishing charactaristic in too many of todays doctors). I thank you from the bottom of my heart Dr. Chien for your efforts to alleviate my nerve pain. You are TOPS in my opinion. Sincerely, Marilyn Hochstrasser

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 19th, 2011

After much pain suffered in March and April, my primary physician referred me to the Desert Pain Institute. Dr. Chien ordered an MRI,said I had spinal stenosis and suggested an epideral steriod shot. The pain decreasd from a 7 or 8 to 2 in a matter of hours. Dr. Chien and the staff are professional, caring, and efficient. I have gotten my life back thanks to Dr. Chien.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Enjoying life again...  |  show details
Mar 25th, 2011

Prior to visiting Dr. Chien I had suffered excruciating migraines for several years and had exhausted most of my treatment options. Dr. Chien listened to my concerns, thoroughly explained treatment options and was progressive in his approach. I am pleased to say I have been migraine free for 15 months. I am so very pleased to have met Dr. Chien. He literally gave me back my life!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. James Chien  |  show details
Feb 27th, 2011

I have a herniated disk in my neck that presses on the nerve to my right arm and causes pain and numbness. Dr. Chien prescribed steroid injections into the area of the herniation. Even though they didn't work like we thought they would, Dr. Chien did not give up on that. He prescribed medication that I currently take and seems it is helping. I think Dr. Chien is very good at what he does and deserves high accommodations for hi efforts in trying to help people.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 17th, 2011

Dr. Chien is very professional and outlines all the available treatments for the diagnosis. He explains the procedures risks and potential results. I was very pleased with his care.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 12th, 2011

I have been treated in the past and amcurrently beng treated by a number ofdoctors with varying specialties, butDoctor Chien really stsnds out. He istruly one-in-a-million. I am so thank-ful to have been referred to him.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 3rd, 2011

Dr. James Chien is absolutely outstanding in relieving debilitating lower back and leg pain, even when dealing with severe congenital and degenerative stenosis. There is no one better! Charles Albert Heil, Surprise, AZ