inactive

Dr. James Crout MD Patient Reviews

  • Rheumatology Austin, TX

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    36%
  • Great
    18%
  • Good
    18%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    27%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2014
Patient Integrity
After being seen at ADC Rheumatology for years, Dr Crout banned me from ADC because of a $68.00 charge from the radiology clinic that had nothing to do with his office. At the time (over 15 yrs ago) the billing office sent a charge to CHAMPUS instead of TRICARE and after I repeatedly called them nothing was done. When Crout questioned this charge I explained what was happening but he and his clerk would not look into it and banned any further visits. It is now obvious that his profits depended on collections not his patients' integrity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 21st, 2012
Will not listen to patient when having drug interaction
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I tried many times to tell Dr. Crout that Lyrica was giving me some severe side effects. He said no such effects were listed for the drug. Well I had them and he told me I was making it up. Now I can't use another doctor from Austin Diagnostic Clinic which I have been a member since 1998.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
February 21st, 2012
Knowledgeable and a bit distant
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He seems knowledgeable and conservative.He has a lot of experience and seems positive in nature. He is not the caring type of doctor who will follow up with a phone call. It is difficult to get through to his nurse. I do wish for a more responsive doctor. I didn't get the feeling that he cared at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2012
Disappointing
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to this doctor for fatigue and headache. When my bloodwork indicated it was not an autoimmune problem, and my symptoms did not fit the profiles he described, I expected to be referred elsewhere. I was quite surprised when I was instead told to take prednisone for a month, and told "if it doesn't work, it's unspecified connective tissue disorder. If it does help, it's fibromyalgia." This was worrisome in both its lack of logic, the shotgun prescribing of drugs, and I felt it was borderline disrespectful to people who DO have fibromyalgia. I went elsewhere, and it turned out to be a sinus infection. I will not be returning to Dr Crout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Crout for years. He is the best doctor I have had for my Lupus Disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
September 12th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2011
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Crout, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.