Dr. James Cuyler MD, FRCSC Patient Reviews

  • Pediatrics Portland, OR

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-3.2)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    80%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 21.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2017
We had a bad experience with Dr. James Cuyler
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
We had a bad experience with Dr. Cuyler. He removed wax from my daughters ear using a scraping tool. Aggressive pressure was applied, therefore a layer of skin was removed from her ear canal causing a fair amount of bleeding. A chunk of wax remained, he twisted a tissue and pushed the chunk further into her ear canal where it lodged next to her ear drum. This compromised her hearing for several weeks. Her bed pillow had three quarter-sized spots of blood the next morning.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2015
Avoid!!
One of the worst ENT Drs to assess and treat tongue tie. First, he openly states posterior tongue does doesn't exist even though medical research contradicts his opinion. Rather than be objective he dismisses it. When he does attempt to perform a frenotomy out of frustration he only cuts enough tissue to make your baby bleed. Botched every Time!!! His office staff is rude and does not fulfill records request after multiple requests. When he evaluated my daughter who had chronic ear infections he completed dismissed her symptoms and told me my pediatrician and first ENT were wrong. After getting a 3rd opinion from the Dean and top ENT at OHSU my instincts were correct .......he sucks!!!! OHSU Dr confirmed Dr Cuylers assessment was incorrect and wrong. Stay away, especially for tongue tie.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
One unimpressed person
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Scheduler, therapist, and manager have very poor manners. I love being put on hold for more than 12 minutes each time you call. They play that game, 'the doctor had an emergency surgery", but don't tell you...I assume you are just to read their minds and guess this is the reason you wait for an hour just to be turned away. Besides, the appointment wasn't even on their schedule (imagine that), lost the referral (do you see a pattern here), and took 3 months to schedule it since referral had to be sent to them again. Very unimpressed, no manners, rude, unorganized, no sympathy, not helpful, cannot transfer without hanging up on you after putting you on hold several times for over 12 minutes, and the list goes on. I don't even want to give them a star. Good luck people!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2012
great provider
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The service was streamlined and curteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
Great doctor for my 2 year old and 1 year old!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I brough both my girls to see Dr. Cuyler on our pediatricians recommendation. We had no problems with waiting times and were promptly seen at our appointed time. I read the review about the folks having to wait after a surgery and we have been in three times now for different kids (had to have tubes put in) and have not experienced that. In addition, it sounds like something may have gone wrong at the surgery he was at and I personally give him two thumbs up for sticking with the patient that was having surgery if they needed the extra time. Things happen and doctors need to prioritize. My oldest is now three and is having some hearing problems and we will be seeing Dr. Cuyler again. He has been great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I was told by many different doctors that Dr. Cuyler was the best doctor for my son to see. My son has seen Dr. Cuyler for four different procedures and he has always been kind, professional and thoughtful.

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 26th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Cuyler, MD, FRCSC is similar to these 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.