ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Cuyler Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Cuyler?

Childhood Asthma

Childhood Asthma

Get the facts about childhood asthma, including the causes, symptoms and complications related to this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Cuyler?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21.5 min

Showing 16 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2017

RUDE

WOULDNT LET HIM TREAT MY DOG

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 25th, 2017

We had a bad experience with Dr. James Cuyler

We had a bad experience with Dr. Cuyler. He removed wax from my daughters ear using a scraping tool. Aggressive pressure was applied, therefore a layer of skin was removed from her ear canal causing a fair amount of bleeding. A chunk of wax remained, he twisted a tissue and pushed the chunk further into her ear canal where it lodged next to her ear drum. This compromised her hearing for several weeks. Her bed pillow had three quarter-sized spots of blood the next morning.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 5th, 2015

Avoid!!

One of the worst ENT Drs to assess and treat tongue tie. First, he openly states posterior tongue does doesn't exist even though medical research contradicts his opinion. Rather than be objective he dismisses it. When he does attempt to perform a frenotomy out of frustration he only cuts enough tissue to make your baby bleed. Botched every Time!!! His office staff is rude and does not fulfill records request after multiple requests. When he evaluated my daughter who had chronic ear infections he completed dismissed her symptoms and told me my pediatrician and first ENT were wrong. After getting a 3rd opinion from the Dean and top ENT at OHSU my instincts were correct .......he sucks!!!! OHSU Dr confirmed Dr Cuylers assessment was incorrect and wrong. Stay away, especially for tongue tie.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 1st, 2015

One unimpressed person

Scheduler, therapist, and manager have very poor manners. I love being put on hold for more than 12 minutes each time you call. They play that game, 'the doctor had an emergency surgery", but don't tell you...I assume you are just to read their minds and guess this is the reason you wait for an hour just to be turned away. Besides, the appointment wasn't even on their schedule (imagine that), lost the referral (do you see a pattern here), and took 3 months to schedule it since referral had to be sent to them again. Very unimpressed, no manners, rude, unorganized, no sympathy, not helpful, cannot transfer without hanging up on you after putting you on hold several times for over 12 minutes, and the list goes on. I don't even want to give them a star. Good luck people!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2012

great provider

The service was streamlined and curteous.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 19th, 2011

Great doctor for my 2 year old and 1 year old!

I brough both my girls to see Dr. Cuyler on our pediatricians recommendation. We had no problems with waiting times and were promptly seen at our appointed time. I read the review about the folks having to wait after a surgery and we have been in three times now for different kids (had to have tubes put in) and have not experienced that. In addition, it sounds like something may have gone wrong at the surgery he was at and I personally give him two thumbs up for sticking with the patient that was having surgery if they needed the extra time. Things happen and doctors need to prioritize. My oldest is now three and is having some hearing problems and we will be seeing Dr. Cuyler again. He has been great.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2008

I was told by many different doctors that Dr. Cuyler was the best doctor for my son to see. My son has seen Dr. Cuyler for four different procedures and he has always been kind, professional and thoughtful.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2015

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

October 26th, 2015

5.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2015

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Cuyler is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.

  • Dr. James Thomas

    Otolaryngology

    Portland, OR 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    32
  • Dr. Richard Hodgson

    Otolaryngology

    Portland, OR 0.01 mi

    4.3
    (12)
    33
  • Dr. Eric Dierks

    Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Otolaryngology

    Portland, OR 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (8)
    38