Dr. James Dowd MD Patient Reviews

  • Rheumatology Brighton, MI

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

2.5 (-1.3)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    52%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    26%
  • Bad
    9%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 22.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.3 of 5
November 4th, 2013
Horrible experience
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The whole appointment was was all about cows that were raised on grass only. It seems that Mr Dowd himself may have been raised on grass. waste of time. looking for a real doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 6th, 2013
Total Jerk
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Dowd shouldn't even be called a Dr. He lectured for 2 hours about meditating and journaling. If I did those things, my pain would go away. He ordered no tests to see if there was something going on. He just lectured and puffed himself up with his book writing skills and the fact that he doesn't use medicine. I truly wish I would never have entered into his office. I have since found a rheumatologist who has done lab tests and accurately diagnosed me and I have found tremendous help. NO thanks to Mr Dowd.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Dowd is an awesome doctor. When you first meet him, you can tell right away that he is very intelligent. However he talks to you and explains things in such a way that the average person can understand what hes saying. When I first met with Dr. Dowd I had a couple of issue going on. After reviewing my blood work and medical history, he turned to me and said everything that is going on with you can be fixed by diet and exercise. "Or you can continue your current life style and stay on the medications". Well I took his advice and changed my diet, still exercise as I did before I saw him. At my sixth month follow up visit he reviewed my charts and blood work and said you no longer need to be taking your meds anymore. To this day Ive stuck to the diet and I feel great. By the way I lost 25lbs while on this diet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2012
Dr Dowd
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He seems to care but hasn't found acure for my severe R/A yet,Thinking about changing doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 21st, 2011
Claims professional
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
if things are not black and white he does not look any further. Although, the lab work was negative, severe joint pain means something, which he and his staff did not care to address.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spent over an hour the first visit. Very thorough. Uses vitamins and diet before drugs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
My child has a rare auto-immune disease called Bechet's disease and he is willing to try things to help her. He is very compassionate

2.0 of 5
June 5th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 6th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Dowd, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Brighton, MI.