The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Long Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Long?

Ratings and Reviews

34 Ratings with 18 Comments

  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
17.2 min

Showing 34 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2016

I am a 49 yr old and Dr. Long is by far the greatest, most caring physician I have ever had. Lucky to call him my doctor

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2015

Superstar Internist & PCP

Dr. Long is an incredible primary care physician. Actually, he's not only a doctor...he's an educator, as well. There is literally NO PCP I've ever encountered who is this dedicated. He's extremely intelligent, a savvy, current physician, has a wonderful manner, is very caring and compassionate, and spends a very long time with each appointment. I am a very discerning consumer about my, and my family's, medical care. I'll research high and low for the right doctor. I've found the absolute right PCP in Dr. Long. You truly won't find a more thorough, intelligent, compassionate, or caring PCP anywhere in Northern Virginia. He has complete knowledge of, and will discuss with you at length, any current research and/or studies re your particular medical issue. He's very funny, too, which is welcome icing on the cake! :D He also is available via email if you sign up with Privia. Worth every penny. I caretake my mom at home, and there have been many times I've had to email Dr. Long about her condition(s). He always responds in a timely manner, and, sometimes, late at night. He's also my husband's PCP. What doctor does that in 2015? Do not hesitate to see Dr. Long...especially if you're smart and like to take an active role in your healthcare. It's like having your nicest, smartest, most humble, and most caring college professor as your primary care physician. :) Oh - and LOVE his staff, too. Everyone is warm and friendly...you'll become family at Novamed. :)

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2015

Dr. Long is a great doctor

I would recommend Dr. Long to everyone. He is friendly and really cares about his patients. I recently had a yearly physical and Dr. Long did not rush me at all. He listened well and answered all of my questions completely. My husband and I are both patients of Dr. Long.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2015

Very Caring and Knowledgeable.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 14th, 2015

excellent!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 6th, 2015

Very compassionate. Takes time.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 29th, 2014

Disorganized and short tempered. Leaves you to go to another patient without giving you your RXs and then mid-writes them.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 24th, 2014

A Great Primary Care Doctor

I wanted to take a moment to commend Dr. Long for his professional manner, savvy medical knowledge and intuitive style. He takes the time needed to discuss your medical needs and really dives into past issues, allowing him to assess and recommend as necessary. He is extremely easy to talk to and gives me a comfort level that allows me to talk candidly with him. He is very well connected with the medical community which is so helpful in the event a specialist is needed; so important for a primary care physician. He really cares about his patients and keeps updated on the latest in field of medicine. Never have I felt rushed!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 5th, 2013

Dr Long haas lived up to my expectations as to what a good doctor should be. He listens, is caring and gives good advice. I am extremely happy he has accepted me as a patient .

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2012

Dr. Long is what a doctor SHOULD be. He displays empathy for his patients,listens to their concerns, and shows an understanding and professional manner in his discssions. His treatments and recommendations have always proven to be sound.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2012

A Regular Patient

He's been my doctor for over 10 years, and will remain so 'til death do us part... which I'm hoping is a good long time.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2012

I would recommend him to anyone

I looked for a new doctor for 8 months before I found Dr. Long. I'm a nurse and picky about my health care. Dr. Long is fantastic. I have my whole family going to him now. He takes the time to listen and is logical in his responses. He explains things well and is very compassionate. Best doctor I have seen in 25 years.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Long is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.

  • Dr. James Thompson III

    Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease, Cardiovascular Disease

    Fairfax, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    38
  • Dr. Anup Manoharan

    Nephrology, Internal Medicine

    Fairfax, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    11
  • Dr. James Lee

    Dr. James Lee

    Internal Medicine

    Fairfax, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    28