Dr. James Farrell MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Los Angeles, CA

Overall Rating

1.3
  • 9 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

9 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    0%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    89%
  • Wait Time 48.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2016
Be careful all Dr Farrel care is money
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
saw Dr Farrel because abdominal pain, He did multiple test on me the last one an FNA without consent, never recommended anything just another EUS in 12 month, still have the pain He never care, is all about making money doing procedures on you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 18th, 2015
Shock and Awe
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I too will award Dr. Farrell one star because there's no option for handing him a zero. He has let me suffer like a dog for nearly a year. No return calls from him and only one from his P.A. And forget any chance of having the almighty "follow up after visit" following an invasive procedure. The pain, nausea and vomiting is indescribable and relentless. Morphine and Oxycodone are the only reason I"m still standing and I had to rely on another physician for those prescriptions. The staff takes their cues from him and couldn't care less. This is all I can say for now since I'm still stuck with him seeing as how there are so few gastroenterologists in CT with expertise in pancreatic disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 15th, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to give Dr. Farrell one Star since I dont have an option of -0000 Star. I can not believe he is a doctor!!!!!! It would be nice for someone to ever call you back with your results AFTER 20 CALLS MADE TO HIS OFFICE to let you know if YOU HAVE CANCER!!!!!!!!!!! Farrell you are not an INTERNIST AND GET PATIENTS WITH COLDS TO IGNORE THEM THE WAY YOU AND YOUR STAFF DO
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2011
Very Unresponsive!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr Farrell for follow-up testing after a colonoscopy and biopsy identified a cancerous polyp. I called at least 7 times over the next month for results of testing and never received a return phone call.I did not receive reports on the procedure and pathology until I asked the referring physician to request them.Completely unresponsive!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 31st, 2010
Never go this guy.
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had EGD yesterday and after that, I had the most miserable day of my life due to Nosea, Vomiting, Bloating. I couldn't hold even wate in my stomach and had been without food or drinks since 10PM the night before.After coming home in Santa Barbara, I called the pager service at UCLA for Dr. Farrell. The pager operator told me that he would call me back and I shoulc call them again if don't receive a call from the doctor for half an hour. Nothing happened, so I called the pager service 40 minutes later. They said they will call the doctor and patch the call to me.That did happen. Kudos to UCLA staff.Finally, when the doctor called through the UCLA staff, I told him about my problems. He was non-responsive, detached. All he had to say was that it was a reaction to the medicine and will go away. I was feeling like I would never be able to drink or eat. I spent a miserable night.This morning I call Dr. William Carnes in Santa Barbara, who had referred me to Dr. Farrell. Dr. Carnes had a busy schedule and yet he took me right away. He tried to defend Dr. Farrell but gave me two medicines: one for reflux and one for nausea. Within minutes, I felt great. I cooked Past primavera with alfredo sauce and enjoyed it with Glen Morangie Nectar d'Or.If left upto Dr. Farrell, I would have starved today too. I had told Dr. Carnes that Dr. Farrell is not as nice as him and he shouldn't refer anyone to Dr. Farrell.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 14th, 2009
Will never use again
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Office will take 1st place for arrogance. Does not return any calls. You are left alone. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
This doctor has the worst bedside manner, not to mention arrogance as well. He does not getback to you with test results in a timely manner, and only returns calls after you've paged him for 2 days. I would not recommend this doctor at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 12th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Farrell, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.