The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Murphy Is this you?
  • 11
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
8.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Murphy?


19 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2017

Dr. Murphy is wonderful. I walked in his office after having surgery by another Doctor, had a very bad infection and a great deal of pain. Dr. Murphy saw me immediately, he had to repair what had been done, Dr Murphy did a great job, I am very very pleased that he took the time and used his considerable skills to fix my problem

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

I had breast reduction surgery, and am extremely happy with my results. Dr. Murphy eased my fears going into surgery with realistic expectation of results/pain levels. Very pleased with the outcome. Highly recommend Dr. Murphy. Wish I had this done at least 10 years earlier. I feel great and my self esteem has gone through the roof.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 16th, 2016

Choosing to have this man as my surgeon was one of the worst things I have ever done. He gives false expectations and poor follow up care afterwards. I have lost feeling in half of my breast and unnecessary scarring from scabs being ripped away by this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 13th, 2016

Gives unreal expectations to gain business. So interested in gaining clients that appointments are often pushed back to squeeze in extra surgeries. From infections to unnecessary scarring, and insensitive patient care, this man is careless.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 18th, 2012

A Different Me

This doctor changed my entire life. I am now able to wear the different type of shirts and summer dresses i have always wanted to wear. I look great and feel great thanks to Dr.Murphy. Great Job!!!!!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 24th, 2011

Nice visit, but a bit rushed.

I don't expect Dr's to be your best friend, however I felt a bit rushed and not enough time was spent explaining the procedure to me. I felt like just another patient, however the Dr. was nice. The staff was as well, and they called you by name which is a rarity! Dr. Murphy is the only surgeon in memphis that takes Tricare, and it's really nice of him to do so...considering it's AWFUL insurance and he basically gets paid nothing for doing the procedure!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 15th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 1st, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 13th, 2016

4.0 Rating

October 12th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Murphy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Memphis, TN.

  • Dr. William Adams Jr

    Dr. William Adams Jr

    Plastic Surgery, General Surgery

    Memphis, TN 0 mi

    4.0
    (26)
    52
  • Dr. Neumon Goshorn

    Plastic Surgery

    Memphis, TN 0.02 mi

    4.0
    (29)
    37
  • Dr. Roberto Lachica

    Dr. Roberto Lachica

    Plastic Surgery, General Surgery

    Memphis, TN 0.10 mi

    4.4
    (12)
    25