Dr. James Gurtowski MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 22.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2016
Great experience with a competent ortho.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Figured out my problem and treated it with great results. Cant ask for more than that. Great office staqff to boot. Really helpful folks. And he is an easy guy to talk to
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2016
Several visits to Dr. Gurtowski over the past 2 years.
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Being an old guy I have collected a number of musculoskeletal injuries over the years (and a few serious new ones). Dr. Gurtowski has been by far the ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2012
Where I'm coming from....
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In the middle of treatment for injuries sustained in an automobile accident, I was told by staff that Dr. Gurtowski would not see me again because my no fault benefits were (wrongfully) denied. His staff would not give me another appointment and stated "You can't afford him." I rate this office VERY low.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2012
Emergency Response Provider, Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gurtowski is not your run of the mill Surgeon. He actually SPEAKS to you before, during and after surgery. His skills are exceptional.He is a Pioneer in his field. When everyone gave up on my 89 yo Mom, Dr. Gurtowski took her case and rebuilt her knee. (I was told she would probably never walk again by the ER physician and she could be made "comfortable"). His aftercare is in the best interest of his patients and he will go the limit to see that you receive what you need for a full recovery. I am also a patient of Dr Gurtowski, and in the field of Emergency Medicine for many years. His compassion is what seperates him other surgeons. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I've never encountered a dr with such total lack of empathy towards a patient.Callus, rude and condescending.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2011
Excellent
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He knows his stuff and treats you well. His staff was also helpful with paperwork and information.I do not recommend breaking bones but if you do then have him fix you up and you will get the best result! Wonderful man, terrific doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 4th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would highly recommend Dr. Gurtowski! I have switched to Dr. Gurtowski after being seen by other top specialists up and down the eastern seaboard. Other doctors ran out of ideas, and Dr. Gurtowski took a fresh look at my condition, and had unique ideas that worked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2010
Seek someone else...
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's fine. If you can get past his staff. I have never met such miserable, misinformed LYING people as I have here. They have no CLUE about Medicare and are despicably rude and uncaring. Two days before Christmas. SHAME on YOU Dr. G for allowing such people to work for you!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 12th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr gurtowski did my r. shoulder and my r. knee and i feel great he is such a great doctor and his staff is just as great mike dagrossa
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2009
poor office practice
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
receptionist very rude, arrogant. Unwilling to help with patients time sensitive material needed for outside parties..ie..insurance, benifits, workers comp, medicare papers. Common excuse, "we do not have to time for this!" A good practice should always have time for patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Gurtowski, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Huntington Station, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Thaddeus Spak

2.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Richard Boccio

30 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Moriarty

33 years experience

3.5 of 5