Overall Review

3.7
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.1)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    28%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Wait Time 19.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

4.0 of 5
September 16th, 2016
Responsible and Personable
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very patient. If you see him, he is careful to answer and follow up on all questions. If it is not his field, he has no problem referring your issues to the right person. He excels with the elderly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 29th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent care And knowledge of the medical problems Explains in Oder that one adequately understands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2016
Care is not something to write home about ....
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I left his care after years of coming up short . Waiting room stays were often over an hour and then once called back to examination room could easily be an additional 15-20 min. He was not sensitive to needs or concerns and often attributes "problems" to age, after which he may simply say a very hot shower would help. (actually happen a few times) He is NOT one to order diagnostic test at all, takes an act of congress. If you are seeking impersonal run-around care, he is definitely the doctor for you. Not bitter, just matter of fact and quite a shame.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
outstanding Dr
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2013
Daughter of Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is the first Doctor that has ever called me about my mother's care! He took the time to talk to me in detail. I was able to ask him questions and he gave me detailed, practical information in how to best care for my mother's health without my feeling rushed. His nurse has ALWAYS returned my calls or have answered my questions immediately. I've had nothing but a positive experience with Dr. Mixon and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 19th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The address in this website is wrong, not surprising because he doesn't keep his patient records straight either. No followup, hard to contact, doesn't return phone calls, and not good at listening or responding to patient needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 9th, 2010
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient since 1989 when Dr. Mixon was with Sentara. He is very knowledgable and professional. Over the years, he has given me great instruction and has thoroughly answered any questions I have had. The staff is great as well! You may have to wait for a an appointment, but you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2009
But He's A Nice Guy . . .
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The good thing for me is that he doesn't urge me to have tests I don't want. But he screws up paperwork, including writing prescriptions wrong, and never follows up or checks back to see why you were there last time and if your issues have been resolved. Also, "nerves" is not a disgnosis.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mixon is not just a fine doctor but he is an outstanding individual who trully cares not only about your physical well-being but also cares about you as a person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Mixon, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hampton, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Tahanie Osman

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Felice Haake

7 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Samuel Jones

15 years experience

4.8 of 5