The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Rice Is this you?
  • 22
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.4 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Rice?


35 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2017

The best pain management Doctor I have ever had,

I have had 4 fractures in my spine, and he always took care of them. I was able to do what I needed to do without back pain.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2017

Worst experience EVER!!

4.0 Rating

January 19th, 2017

Does a great Job!

Dr rice knows his stuff and my doctor sent me to him for an epidural. He took time to explain everything to me. The shot took about 5 minutes. I did not feel pain, just a little pressure and for the next two and a half months had no more back or leg pain. It was heaven. I went back to him for a second shot and after just exercise helped me keep the pain away. He gave me great advice. His bedside manner is a little brisk, but he is definitely no nonsense and straight forward.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 25th, 2016

very rude and was more concerned about getting me in and out of exam room for next patient.Would not take time to answer questions

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 26th, 2016

Excellent doctor for pain management!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2015

Great doctor! Friendly, down-to-earth, knowledgeable!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 24th, 2013

Please listen

My Mom is 91 years old. She has all her own teeth, takes one little thyroid pill a day, manages a husband who is in the beginning stages of alzheimers, and reminds me of Betty White. I love and admire her, she sets the stage for who I want to be. I'm writing because she has been ignored, shuffled, left behind and forgotten while doing everything in her power to get a steroid injection for pain that is keeping her awake for nights on end. This woman never complains, If she does, pay attention! She is in pain. She saw Dr. Rice 5 months ago and was given an injection in her neck to relieve inoperable stenosis. During Dr. Rices verbal self appraisal, he assured her his injection would last longer than any previous ones she had recieved. He told her if she needed another, he would not do it without an MRI. Mom got her MRI. After her chart was lost. After waiting weeks for someone to get back with her. Now, apparently that MRI is piled within an overload of others in which Dr. Rice has never followed up on. Meanwhile, during my calls to her, she tells me of being unable to sleep secondary to her arms and hands falling asleep and getting numb. She tells me of 'Shayla' a nurse who assures Mom she is being taken care of, then never calls back. She has now been suffering for over a month. Mom has called the hospital and is obtaining her own disc of her MRI and the reading so that she can seek another physician who might give her relief. She has been pushed aside, shuffled, forgotten, and is tolerating pain way beyond what a 91 year old woman should experience. I feel helpless, frustrated, angry, and confused. I've worked with doctors as a CMA for 37 years in Arizona. I've never seen this kind of neglect. My mom deserves so much better than this.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2010

Excellent care!

Everything about my experience seeing Dr. Rice was absolutely professional and top-notch care. Can't recommend him enough!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2017

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Rice is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Albuquerque, NM.

  • Dr. Timothy Hansen

    Pain Management, Anesthesiology

    Albuquerque, NM 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (44)
    33
  • Dr. Gregory Franklin

    Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine

    Albuquerque, NM 0.21 mi

    9
  • Dr. Miguel Pupiales

    Dr. Miguel Pupiales

    Pain Management, Anesthesiology

    Albuquerque, NM 0.39 mi

    4.2
    (30)
    26