ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Halikas Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Halikas?

Adult ADHD

Get the facts about attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in adults, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Halikas?

Ratings and Reviews

43 Ratings with 18 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    9
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    19
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    9
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    19

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
42.1 min

Showing 43 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2017

Dr. Halikas is an excellent doctor. Experienced and caring. I highly recommend him
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

July 9th, 2015

BEWARE

I saw Dr. Halikis for almost 4 years, and our average appointment lasted about 10 minutes. I used him purely to renew the prescription anti- depressants I was already taking when I began seeing him. I would never have considered using him for a talk therapist, due to his arrogant nature. On the visit before my last, I saw a family member in the waiting room and realized we were using the same Dr. (no big deal I thought). On my next appointment I was immediately asked questions about my relationship with that family member. I was then admonished for my lack of relationship with this person, and told that I needed to start communicating with them immediately whether that was good for me or not. He had no idea what my actual relationship with them was or the history behind it. I have never felt so inappropriately and unprofessionally attacked by a “CARE GIVER”. I would never recommend Dr Halikis. I thought that I was safe because I was just getting my anti-depressants from him. BEWARE! If you are seeing him for script refills you may end up with some highly unsolicited and abusive “therapy”.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

February 13th, 2015

Psychologist

He seems good at administering meds. I prefer to "talk" therapy.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 4th, 2014

needs to retire

Been seeing this man for 2 years and still not better. The psychologist with him is wonderful, but cannot prescribe meds. Dr.Halikas has been doing this for too long and needs to retire. Unsympathetic and cold.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 20th, 2013

Do not use this quack! A Joke!

This practice is a joke! Made an appt. After an hour wait, I went and asked about my appt. There was still one more in front of me. I was taken back and explained to Dr. Halikas that I had already waited for an hour. He said in a very condescending voice that the typical wait time is 2-3 hours! He explained that I could get an appt on fridays with an actual time for an extra $150! While sitting in the waiting room, he was takiing patients back in 10-15 min increments. I got the feeling he was one of those dr.s that just gives you drugs and no therapy. You can not do therapy in 10 minutes! Do not use!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 5th, 2013

Terrible Experience

I took my son to Dr. Halikas for evaluation and maintenance of his psychiatric medications. My son had recently been released after 55 days in detox and rehab. from Suboxone. He still had cravings and told Dr. Halikas he wanted to go back on Suboxone during the visit. I vehemently protested for three reasons: my son went through terrible withdrawal syptoms getting off Suboxone, his life had been stalled and nonexistant while on Suboxone for four years, and he has no money to pay for Suboxone. I openly pleaded my case that we were there for psychiatric medication maintenance only. But this so called doctor totally ignored me and proceeded to give my son a prescription for Suboxone after I had walked out of the office. As a result, my son stole money from me to get 10 days worth of Suboxone and then landed back in rehab where he remains today. To add insult to injury. this so called "doctor" charged me $1200 for this visit and two subsequent visits (even after being told we are from Pennsylvania and would not be around for the future visits.) I plan to seek legal advice.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff

3.7 Rating

February 27th, 2013

Known him professionally

He is a 'crusty crab' with a heart of gold. After having worked in the addiction/pain field many years; one just may get tired of some of the clients and their stories-perhaps he has figured out some ways to separate the wheat from the chafe. I have heard some wonderful, warm stories about him over the years in addressing some people's deepest and darkest depressions-when no one else would/could go there.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 19th, 2012

Dr Halikas is in wrong field

Dr Halikis is supposed to be an expert in additions. When I relapsed he said he was very disappointed in me. He of all people should know this is a disease of relapse!!!! This was after a $1000 a month of treatment....

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 30th, 2012

:-(

After only seeing him a few times, I was told that I was basically un-fixable and would need to be on meds forever (which was proven wonrg because I have been off for a year). I was also prescribed medication that interacted with my heart medication. The pharmacist saw a red flag and new that I should stop the new medicine right away, while the doctor continued to push me to take it... not happy.

Wait time
11 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

June 8th, 2012

Good man, intelligent, terrible staff

Dr. Halikas is fairly good at his job, though a bit quick to diagnose. Nevertheless, he's probably among the better doctors available on my health plan, which may speak volumes as to how iffy my healthcare plan is; however, this bears little relevance. His weak point has nothing to do with him personally, but rather the staff manning the telephones. I've on a number of occasions been put on hold, hung up on, and then put through to voicemail upon redialing the number. He could certainly use a shake-up of staff, due to their being wholly unprofessional and entirely less than courteous. I'd recommend Dr. Halikas if you need a good psychiatrist, and are willing to make an appointment for an hour earlier than you expect to be treated. Perhaps that's because of his being in great demand, or perhaps it's an externality (like his accepting of healthcare plans that leave little choice). All he needs to do is hire new secretaries and he'd probably be a top-rated doctor (though maybe he's hired said secretaries to keep his waiting time from being even longer by having more clients coming back). Needless to say, if he does not address this issue, I won't come back.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 24th, 2012

Superb psychopharmacologist

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2011

FAIR AND TRUSTS YOU AS YOU CONVEY HONESTLY

DR HALIKAS IS THE ONLY DOCTOR THAT WILL TRUST WHAT YOU TELL HIM UNTIL LIKE MOST PATIENTS LIE DECIEVE OR TRY TO TOO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF HIM. HE BELIEVES WHAT YOU TELL HIM UNTIL YOU START CHANGING YOUR STORY ABOUT WHAT YOU THINK IS WRONG WITH YOU , WHEN TRUST IS LOST BETWEEN DOCTOR HALIKAS AND YOUR DISHONESTLY FIRST OF ALL HE KNOWS YOU HAVE LIED THE MAN HAS MORE EXPERIENCEAND IS EXTREMELY INTELGENT.MY EXPERIENCE WITH DR HALIKAS IS BE HONEST AND HE WILL MAKE EVERY EFFORT AND TRY DIFFERENT MEDICATIONS UNTIL YOU FEEL BETTER THEN BEFORE YOU CAME TO HIM IM MORE THEN SATISFIED WITH HIM BECAUSE HE TRULY CARES ABOUT ME AND WANTS ME TOO BE HAPPYAND HE WONT GIVE UP ON YOU AS LONG AS YOUR TELLING HIM EXACTLY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Halikas is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Naples, FL.

  • Dr. Ronald Howard Jr

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Naples, FL 0.54 mi

    3.6
    (35)
    24
  • Dr. Muhammad Raja

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Naples, FL 0.84 mi

    49
  • Dr. Prathima Moorthy

    Dr. Prathima Moorthy

    Pain Management, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

    Naples, FL 1.12 mi

    4.0
    (28)
    16