Dr. James Hammond MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Rayville, LA

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 39 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.6)

39 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    36%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 44.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a surgery done and still ended up pregnant. I
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 10th, 2014
can't have anymore kids
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
whats most memorable for me is that my cheif complaint to this doctor was a bad right ovary, I went to surgery to have it removed and woke up to find that he had removed the left ovary, then I was treated like a bad habit by him and his wife. All i can say is be careful because our society our justice system allows him to get away with it. So be very careful of this butcher doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2013
My husband could have delivered my son
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Always had to wait at least 2 hours & many times had to stand while waiting. He got my blood test results mixed up with another woman's & treated me for an std I NEVER had! In hospital he said I could have my epidural. 18 hrs later he wanted to have me discharged from the hospital. After 3 days in labor & seeing him twice, my son was delivered by a nurse. He wrote my discharge pain Rx to Jane Doe Blue. How can this man still be a doctor??
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2013
My Seventh Child
Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 1st, 2012
Stay away
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 27th, 2011
Worse doctor in the Baton Rouge area hands down
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wouldn't have given him any stars if that was a possible option on this site. I only saw Dr. Hammond himself twice. The reset of my visits were with a nurse practitioner. His office was so dirty I feared of getting sick. They over book appointments but am unsure how being as you can NEVER get in touch with anyone at their office. I had an emergency c-section and got no post op advice on how to take care of my incision which resulted in an infection. His staff are unprofessional and I'm pretty sure one of the nurses was either always drunk and or high on something. When it was time for me to be discharged from the hospital, he didn't even check my incision, he just opened the door to my room and said time to go home. I WILL NEVER go back to this doctor, not even if my life depended on it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 9th, 2011
Friendly Staff
Dr. James Hammond is very rude and vulgar to the nursing staff and threating to their safety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2010
stay away!!! he's horrible
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HORRIBLE!!!! Saw him 3x's. Never recieved post natal care from him. He never examined the incision after surgery. He's a quack and his staff is nothing more than a bunch of idiots.

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2010
This Office Is Horrid.
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff is blatantly racist. Example: Black people can have their children in the waiting room, anyone else has to leave if they brought kids.I waited 3 hours for a pap while watching 5 other women come and go while I waited, and waited.I have high blood pressure, the nurse that took my vitals told me to go to the ER because I was about to have a stroke. At the ER they told me I was fine and the last thing she should have said was 'YOU'RE ABOUT TO HAVE A STROKE!'I have chosen to avoid this 'doctor' at all costs and have been looking for a new one.In my opinion it's almost better to have no doctor at all.

3.7 of 5
August 18th, 2009
Good doc if you can catch him!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
1st appointment was at 8 months pregnant, only one who would see me. Very nice man, respectful and honest with my birth plan. Hadn't been involved with water birth before but was willing to try. Then I was seen by a student midwife, unpleasant to say the least. Dr didn't attend actual birth. Couldn't get appointment for follow up exam. Gave up after about a month of calling all the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 5th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Hammond, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rayville, LA.