Dr. James Helgager MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Oceanside, CA

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 80 patient ratings
  • 21 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.3)

80 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    69%
  • Great
    15%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    10%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2017
Great surgeon for hip joint replacement
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a joint replaced by Dr. Helgagar in Feb. 2017. He did a great job, and I can only recommend him for his medical skills and experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 24th, 2017
highly professional caring orthospecialist
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
great preperation for the surgery, wonderful outcome and follow up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 7th, 2016
Dr. James Helgager
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
From my first visit to surgery went very smoothly. I was provided with pre-surgery and post surgery information that was very clear and informative to get me comfortly through the knee replacement surgery. I really appreciate Dr Helgagers daily chech ins with the Health Loop site.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor and surgeon. Doesn't banter or small talk. Very knowledgeable and confident. Did both of my hip replacements and I'm am eternally grateful for his excellent work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2016
Retired
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Best Ortho guy in North County
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I chose Dr. James Helgager after researching the available surgeons and discovering how highly respected he was. My next-door neighbor and my neighbor across the street also had their hips done by Dr. Helgager. Three people (4 procedures) in the same cul du sac with the same procedure (total hip replacement) in less than 2 years and everyone is very happy with their results. I highly recommend him for hip replacement procedures.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 21st, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Doesn't spend much time doing an exam and doesn't talk much. He made me feel like he either had other things to do or he didn't have a clue as to the next step. I followed up with Dr. Coopermen who was much better.

4.0 of 5
March 29th, 2016
Get the number right!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
My only problem with this doctor is that the office staff seem determined to call me on any number except the pne I ask them to use over and over and over. I hope they are more efficient with my knees and my records! I get calls on several phone numbers not used by me aboutappointments and my callfor information today has not been answered by close of business. Iwonder if they are calling wrong numbers still despite many requests to update their computer records which were erroneous in the first place.

4.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2016
Good, but...
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would prefer a two way communication system for follow up. When I have questions, I would like to ask during these "follow ups. "
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 9th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't say enough about Dr Helgager and his staff. Every appointment, interaction, follow up deserves a higher rating than excellent. I was the lucky one when he was referred to me. I'm in Heathcare and very picky about every aspect of care and customer service.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 6th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really enjoy Dr. Helgager professionalism and knowledge. I am very happy with his diagonis and would recommend him to my relatives and friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Helgager, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Oceanside, CA.