The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Holtzclaw Is this you?
  • 12
  • 2
  • 3
  • 5
  • 29

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
38.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Holtzclaw?


51 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

My primary doctor sent me to see Dr. Holtzclaw to check my hip. He is truly a great Doctor. Diagnosed the problem and gave me total relief. I have so much faith in this Doctor .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 19th, 2016

I would not recommend this doctor. He didn't examine me or look at 3 MRI reports. He spent approximately 60 seconds with me. He wasn't willing to listen to any of my problems or concerns with my hip. His PA did examine and asked a few questions. I liked the PA, to bad he wasn't the Dr.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

July 17th, 2016

Thoroughly pleased and appreciative!

I flew my 83 yr old mother from Delaware for hip replacement surgery. In 4 wks she flew back home and is pain free! I appreciated Dr. Holtzclaw's surgical and clinical skills. He is a man of few words but I appreciated his conciseness. My mother always felt at ease in his care. I also appreciated having access to a portal to email questions to his nurse Risa, who efficiently responded.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 8th, 2016

He's burnt out and it shows

One day James holtclaw will need a doctor. I hope he's a better surgeon than he was to me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 6th, 2016

The worst

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 1st, 2016

What happened to me was horrible. When I first met the surgeon we went over all the meds I take. I spoke to his nurse who scheduled me for preop one week 8 days before surgery. After pre op I go to my primary care. At the time of preop the nurse told me to stop taking baby aspirin and vitamins. Which I did. She signed me off. My primary doctor signed me off. Day of surgery I am being prepped by a stress out team. They started to give me Iv when I told him that I stopped baby aspirin 9 days ago they said that this is the only dr that wants 2 weeks off of aspirin. If he would have told me I would have complied. I was destroyed. I was so upset and i accuse the surgeon that this his fault. I googled his name 88 complaint dr. James Holtzclaw . I What happened to me was horrible. When I first met the surgeon we went over all the meds I take. I spoke to his nurse who scheduled me for preop one week 8 days before surgery. After pre op I go to my primary care. At the time of preop the nurse told me to stop taking baby aspirin and vitamins. Which I did. She signed me off. My primary doctor signed me off. Day of surgery I am being prepped by a stress out team. They started to give me Iv when I told him that I stopped baby aspirin 9 days ago they said that this is the only dr that wants 2 weeks off of aspirin. If he would have told me I would have complied. I was destroyed. I was so upset and i accuse the surgeon that this his fault. I googled his name 88 complaint dr. James Holtzclaw . I called the nurse from my primary and she's trying to get me a dr. I dropped off my records to another Ortho dr. Whelan but no responses yet. I'm disgusted and hurting. Very upset. Imagine being prepped for surgery then tell me it's cancelled because he is the only dr that make 2 weeks. No one told me. the nurse from my primary and she's trying to get me a dr. I'm disgusted and hurting. Very upset. Imagine being prepped for surgery then tell me it's cancelled because he is the only dr that make 2 weeks. No one told me. Holtzclaw lack medical management . Heartsick and depressing. This all could have been avoided if the so called surgeon was on top of it.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 30th, 2016

The worst

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 29th, 2016

Dr holtclaw does not follow up with his patients review of records. He's nasty and probably got his degree form Clifford medical school. Continue your search

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 26th, 2016

Awful, very unprofessional. Rude. He did not do an exam. He was not courteous or try to diagnose me by my symptoms. I have never had such an awful experience with a doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2016

Stay far away from Dr Holtzclaw

Dr Holtzclaw treated me for a leg injury and despite my intense pain and lack of mobility deemed me healthy. He said your x-rays look good and there's nothing else I can do."Time to get on with life" is his exact quote as he sent me out the door in pain. He never once examined my leg solely relying on x-rays. Dr Holtzclaw is a subpar physician who's unable to think outside the box while displaying little to no human emotion. Under no circumstance see Dr Holtzclaw!!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 10th, 2015

Hip Replacement

I had a hp replacement and it was great. He is a wonderful doctor. I would recommend him to anyone.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2015

Look for Another Surgeon

Do not blink, or you'll miss seeing the doctor. Dr. Hotlzclaw is one of those doctors who enters the room, skips any form of introduction and is out of the room before you can get in more than maybe one question. (I had to chase him out in the hallway to ask a question.) Decision to have surgery? He will decide and tell you so--but don't expect a discussion of outcomes, pros and cons of different approaches.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Holtzclaw is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Savannah, GA.

  • Dr. Paul Lorenzen

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    4.8
    (4)
    46
  • D'Mitri Sofianos

    D'Mitri Sofianos

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    4.7
    (15)
    5
  • Dr. Chetan Deshpande

    Dr. Chetan Deshpande

    Trauma Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Savannah, GA 0 mi

    4.5
    (8)
    13