Dr. James Hoppe MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine South Plainfield, NJ

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.8)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 17.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 20th, 2017
The best doc
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ive been seeing Dr Hoppe since he opened the practice in South Plainfield. I have nothing but praise for him - he is the best doc I've ever been to. He is knowledgeable, has the best bedside manner and spends as much time with him as you need. I am not crazy about his staff as they are always changing and it is hard to get an appt with him but that does not deter me from going there because he is just that great!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Made an appt for my fiancé. We show up and the receptionist says he isn't in the system somehow for today's appts but she put him in anyway. Then she ignored him while he was trying to hand her his insurance card so he plopped it onto his paperwork. She claims he threw the card at her and told me to tell him to grow up, and that she understands it's not his fault that someone didn't put him in the system but it's not hers either- really? She's the one who makes appointments! Then she tells my fiancé it is a cash only copay. Nobody told me that over the phone otherwise we would have arrived with cash. She tried to get another receptionist to be on her side and agree with her that she told me it was cash only. Whatever. (Someone else just walked in and only had a card on them too... So much for telling patients cash only when they book!) Anyway, The receptionist said to go across to quick check to use their atm... She gave us a 5 min window to make it there and back or she won't hold the appt. So we go across the street to quick check and their atm is down. We come back inside to the doctor office and told her it was down. She said to go to our bank and go to the atm there and she would hold the appt for another 15 mins. So now we're here again, waiting, again. Nasty receptionist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 11th, 2015
"Not Taking Emergencies Today"
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I have been going to Dr. Hoppe for years. I was in the ER last night with a 103.3 fever and the ER doctor told me to follow up with my primary today, so I called his office this morning to schedule an urgent follow up appointment and his staff kindly told me that, "he's not taking emergencies today". Oh, I didn't realize I had to schedule my emergency in advance. Time for a new PCP.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2015
Highly recommend
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Hoppe for awhile now. Staff is friendly as is Dr. Hoppe, and I never feel rushed - he answers all of my questions thoroughly. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thorough, compassionate, answered all questions. Knowledgeable. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2014
Nice Experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Nice experience. Takes good care of patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2012
Shocked patience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office staff is terrible. Extremely rude on the telephone. First they lost my blood-works, then I had to call 7 times to get them to fax the prescription for the blood-works to take to Quest lab and get it done there instead. I will advise NEVER to get the blood-works done there. Dr. Hoppe himself is not bad, he just has a very bad judgement for his office staff. If you feel like dealing with a bunch of rude people before you see the doctor, I would recommend going there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 21st, 2012
Don't Recommend!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My family and I have been his patients for a few years. His staff is terrible. I called to make an appointment I was on hold for a long time then she told me to call back in one hour. I did then they told me the same I explained that this is my second time then they told me to go on line and try to make the appointment. How horrible is this? I wont recommend this doctor to anyone. We are finding a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2012
He is wonderful....
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring, calm presentation, unhurried, genuinely concerned.

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Really like Dr. Hoppe. He spends a lot of time with you and seems to be up on all the latest stuff. His staff can do a lot of tests in house, saving time. Love this doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Hoppe, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near South Plainfield, NJ.