The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Hu Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Hu?

Acne

Acne

Get the important facts about acne, including the different types and what causes it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Hu?

Ratings and Reviews

22 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21.5 min

Showing 22 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 24th, 2013

Worse doctor ever. Not a patient oriented doctor. Cannot be rate - He would tell you that he is 30+ years being a dermotologist but has such a bad and/or worst doctor.

Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 4th, 2012

DR Hu cares about his patients and wants to do the best. He is definitely not in it for the money. I have been going to him for over 10 years as needed. In between I tried other dermatologist, but i end up going back to Dr Hu. His advice to stop using cosmetics was the best treatment I got compared to all other dermatologists I have consulted.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 29th, 2010

I would never recommend this Doctor

Dr Hu's office and accounting staff is rude and imcompetent. They don't respond to pharmacy requests to refill prescriptions. Very unorganized. Dr Hu doesn't seem to care about how unprofessional his office is.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 22nd, 2010

Creepy Doctor

Dr. Hu is just plain creepy. I went to see him for a perscription for acne on my face. He asked me to remove my shirt so he could "check my back for moles". No gown was offered and only he and I were in the room. I would never go back.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 29th, 2010

Accurate Diagnosis and Effective Treatment

The rash that I had for years turned out to be related to the joint pains that I also had for years. No other doctor has ever made the connection. Dr. Hu started me on medication and I felt better within a few weeks. Now a few months later, it's like I never had it. I would highly recommend this dermatologist to anyone.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 21st, 2010

Very rude, unprofessional staff

STRONGLY advise others to stay away as I can't imagine the scenario below is not a systemic problem.I had been going to Dr. Hu for over 10 yrs, not necessarily because he was a great dermatologist, but more so out of habit from my initial visits and I was comfortable with him.Recently, I had an incident with his staff (I think he had some turnover recently), who are EXTREMELY rude and unprofessional. The office billed me for $30.17, although the insurance statements indicated I was responsible only for the $15 copay.When asked for an explanation, the bookkeeper, Susie, refused to explain the breakdown of charges, indicated she had been sending bills every other month for 7 months (even though the insurance had just settled with the office three weeks ago and this was obviously the first bill) and said she was not going to discuss further but instead send to "collections". She also refused to let me speak to Dr. Hu directly and hung up on me.My husband confirmed with our insurance provider we were only responsible for the $15 copay amount and also called Susie the next day to try get an explanation. He was met by the same rude demeanor and refusal to explain the charges, and was informed that this has been sent to collections and is now between us and the agency, followed by a click and a dial tone.We have since mailed in the $15 copay check and our insurance company is working this from their end to try to get resolution. In the meantime, I am completely stunned that this office would act this way over a $30 bill. This says VOLUMES about how they do business and treat their patients.In the process, Dr. Hu has lost a long time patient.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2009

Great care nice staff. worth the wait

got to the point of the problem

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 13th, 2009

Dr Who? Dr Quack!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 27th, 2009

This doctor is generally a good one

When I was living in Seattle I used this doctor all the time. I see him frequently due to me having bad skin. He does spend time with me if needed. I would recommend him. He is patient and I do believe he didn't become a doctor just to make money. I think he really wants to do the best he can to help improve people's skin or their skin condition. The doctor's you have to worry about is the ones that does plastic surgery that is totally out of their field. Would you go to an eye doctor that offers nose surgery and face lifts?????????????????????????

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2008

This Dr. Knows Trouble of the Body

Dr. Hu takes quick action to solve difficult skin and related inflamitory problems. He is careful in exlaination of the ploblem and take new and inovative RX to solve problem s

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2017

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

October 12th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Hu is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Seattle, WA.

  • Dr. Dan Lantz

    Dr. Dan Lantz

    Dermatology, Dermatopathology

    Seattle, WA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    36
  • Dr. Annalisa Gorman

    Dr. Annalisa Gorman

    Dermatology

    Seattle, WA 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (20)
    18
  • Dr. Craig Birkby

    Dr. Craig Birkby

    Dermatology

    Seattle, WA 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (8)
    35