Dr. James Karol MD Patient Reviews

  • Urology Oakland, CA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    47%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    20%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 21.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2016
Prostate Suergery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 20th, 2013
Worst Patient Service Ever Encountered
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In 57 years this is the worst patient service I have ever encountered. Waiting over a week for Dr Karol's office to call in a simple Rx (and still no resolution). Practice has very customer unfriendly automated answering system. Then, on the off chance you do get to talk to a human being, there is no action taken anyway. Apparently staff in his office do not talk to each other. Subsequent calls as to why simple request cannot be granted are always explained by, "it wasn't my fault, I didn't know". Evidently no one in this office knows anything, because they can't get even simple tasks accomplished. God forbid you should have to rely on these people for some important treatment or surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 24th, 2010
Excellent Surgeon!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Karol came highly recommended for his ability to perform robotic-assisted laparoscopic radical prostatectomies. This reccommendation was WELL FOUNDED! I appreciated his confident manner and explanations of the procedure....he was VERY thorough. My surgery was a success...no blood transfusions and with little post-op discomfort. I was released the next day with no complications. His follow-up has been excellent. I was told that he is one of the best with this procedure and I believe it. He's a "straight shooter" and, basis my surgery and recovery, can highly recommend him for this procedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can not say enough about the professionalism and skill this surgent has. If your looking for someone to hold your hand, call doctor Oz, but if fast recovery and pretty much painless, post Di Vinci surgery, is what your looking for, this is your man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 30th, 2010
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very Bad Experience. If you don't believe me, then go see for yourself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
March 29th, 2010
bad experience
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr. karol spent very little time with me and was dismissive of my complaints. i felt like he did not care about what i was saying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2008
DAVINCI EXPERIENCE
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
FOR THOSE TO WHOM A SURGEON'S EXPERIENCE IN DOING DAVINCI-ASSISTED PROSTATECTOMY IS IMPORTANT, CONSIDER DR. KAROL. I UNDERSTAND HE'S AMONG THE MOST EXPERIENCED UROLOGIC SURGEONS WITH RESPECT TO THE NUMBER OF THESE PROCEDURES HE'S DONE. MY EXPERIENCE UNDER HIS CARE WAS EXCELLENT.

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
November 25th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 12th, 2015

3.0 of 5
May 7th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 21st, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Karol, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Oakland, CA.