ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Kauten Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Kauten?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
36.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 11th, 2017

My husband had a heart valve repaired by Dr Kauten. We were very comfortable with him. He was very patient and explained the problem in terms we could fully understand. He is a great surgeon. After the surgery my husband said he felt like he had a new heart.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 25th, 2015

After monitoring a heart murmur for a number of years I elected to have Dr. James R. Kauten, MD perform a heart valve replacement. I entered the hospital as an otherwise healthy 58 year old male. In the recovery room after surgery I began to bleed. Dr. Kauten had to reopened my chest to stop the bleeding. After receiving many units of blood, I was sent back to recovery. During the operation my AV node was seriously damaged. For the rest of my life I am totally dependent on a pace maker for survival. I would not recommend Dr. James R. Kauten, MD to a friend.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 1st, 2013

Surgery was good but gives no attention to after care of patients and that is when he is really needed.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 14th, 2012

He doesn't take the time to talk to family of patients. He & his staff acted like they were petting a dog when we were dealing with a surgery that went wrong.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 20th, 2012

One of the BEST of the BEST

I knew I was going to be OK as soon as I met this confident, friendly doctor. He and his staff made my wife and I so confident. Mt heart stopped on the operating table and for 5 minutes his CPR kept me alive until surgery could continue with six bypasses. God has blessed this man and his staff and I highly recommend them to everyone.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 16th, 2010

Best heart valve surgeon in the southeast. I had a Ross Procedure 12 years ago, and am better than I was when I was ten years old.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2010

Mitral and Aortic Valve replacements in 2001 and in 2007

Dr James Kauten ranks, in my opinion, among the very best in his field. He is very easy-going, competent and a very capable surgeon with excellent bedside manners. He highly values and respects a patient's right to make certain pre-op decisions. I recommend him most highly.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2009

Saved my life!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 11th, 2017

1.0 Rating

December 30th, 2016

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2016

2.0 Rating

February 20th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Kauten is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

  • Dr. Sally Beer

    Dr. Sally Beer

    Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease

    Atlanta, GA 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    28
  • Dr. Prashant Kaul

    Cardiovascular Disease, Interventional Cardiology, Internal Medicine, Cardiology

    Atlanta, GA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    14
  • Dr. John Gott

    Dr. John Gott

    Vascular Surgery, Cardiovascular Disease, Thoracic Surgery

    Atlanta, GA 0 mi

    5.0
    (10)
    36