Dr. James Kauten MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 8 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.4)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    53%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    33%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After monitoring a heart murmur for a number of years I elected to have Dr. James R. Kauten, MD perform a heart valve replacement. I entered the hospital as an otherwise healthy 58 year old male. In the recovery room after surgery I began to bleed. Dr. Kauten had to reopened my chest to stop the bleeding. After receiving many units of blood, I was sent back to recovery. During the operation my AV node was seriously damaged. For the rest of my life I am totally dependent on a pace maker for survival. I would not recommend Dr. James R. Kauten, MD to a friend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 1st, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Surgery was good but gives no attention to after care of patients and that is when he is really needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2012
Thanks, Dr Kauten
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It's been 9 years since my quadruple bypass surgery and I am a healthy and happy individual thanks to Dr Kauten's extraordinary skill as a surgeon. And yes, he has a good bedside manner too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't take the time to talk to family of patients. He & his staff acted like they were petting a dog when we were dealing with a surgery that went wrong.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 20th, 2012
One of the BEST of the BEST
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I knew I was going to be OK as soon as I met this confident, friendly doctor. He and his staff made my wife and I so confident. Mt heart stopped on the operating table and for 5 minutes his CPR kept me alive until surgery could continue with six bypasses. God has blessed this man and his staff and I highly recommend them to everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best heart valve surgeon in the southeast. I had a Ross Procedure 12 years ago, and am better than I was when I was ten years old.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2010
Mitral and Aortic Valve replacements in 2001 and in 2007
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr James Kauten ranks, in my opinion, among the very best in his field. He is very easy-going, competent and a very capable surgeon with excellent bedside manners. He highly values and respects a patient's right to make certain pre-op decisions. I recommend him most highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Saved my life!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Kauten, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

Doctor

Dr. Eric Sceusi

8 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Prashant Kaul

14 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Gott

36 years experience

5.0 of 5