Dr. James Halverson DO Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Newport News, VA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.2)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    55%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    15%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 14.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 15th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You will be happy to have Dr. Halverson as a doctor. He is very caring and takes the time out to listen to you. If you're looking for a family doctor , don't look anywhere else. Give him a try. You will love him! The staff is great!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was very nice when I first saw him....then I came back for a second visit it was like he was a different man. He was yelling at me and treating me as if I was nothing. By the time I left his office I was in tears and my heart was being out of my chest. I guess because he couldnt figure out what was wrong with me I dont know....but do not recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 18th, 2013
Office has problems
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Halverson has a different kind of bedside manner. He's very direct. You might like that or you might not. But his lab tech is not professional at all. In my opinion, she does not know what she's doing, so do NOT get your blood work done here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 28th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think Dr. Halverson is a caring, devoted and very competent physician. He worked in the emergency room for 12 years along with practicing family medicine so he is great at recognizing true urgent and emergent conditions but also understands preventative and holistic medicine due to his training in Family Medicine and being a graduate of an osteopathic medical school. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being a patient for 2 years with some major medical issues, he wouldn't take the time to look at my chart before entering the room to simply familiarize himself with me or my case. Considering I was there quite often, this was rather insulting. I wasn't asking him to know EVERYTHING but not to be surprised when just the week before I had "the most outrageous test results (he'd) ever seen". Or to remember that 2 days prior (literally) he'd diagnosed me with diabetes. In the 2 years I'd been there I'd never asked for pain medication. I began having nerve pain and asked him for something to get me through until my appt with a neurologist. Without hesitating or asking he prescribed me the one medication that was in my chart from 2 YEARS ago that I had problems taking. He wouldn't listen to me and said if I was unhappy I could see someone else. I couldn't believe it. One of the nurses called me and couldn't believe it either and saw that it was clearly in my chart from when I first started going there but he didn't look or want to. He was treating me like a drug seeker when, clearly, in my chart I'd NEVER asked for any sort of pain medication. Sorry, I feel nerve pain warrants it when you're not doing anything else about it and when I'm having to wait on a referral and then an appointment on top of it. Would I recommend this doctor? Absolutely not, not if you want to have a decent repore with your physician and not be afraid to ask for something when you know you need it. We know our bodies better then anyone and guaranteed if their family member (or them for that matter) were in fairly severe pain...they'd most likely do something to alleviate it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 14th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 17th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Halverson, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.