ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Halverson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Halverson?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Halverson?

Ratings and Reviews

20 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
14.4 min

Showing 20 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 15th, 2015

You will be happy to have Dr. Halverson as a doctor. He is very caring and takes the time out to listen to you. If you're looking for a family doctor , don't look anywhere else. Give him a try. You will love him! The staff is great!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 13th, 2015

Was very nice when I first saw him....then I came back for a second visit it was like he was a different man. He was yelling at me and treating me as if I was nothing. By the time I left his office I was in tears and my heart was being out of my chest. I guess because he couldnt figure out what was wrong with me I dont know....but do not recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 18th, 2013

Office has problems

Dr Halverson has a different kind of bedside manner. He's very direct. You might like that or you might not. But his lab tech is not professional at all. In my opinion, she does not know what she's doing, so do NOT get your blood work done here.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2010

I think Dr. Halverson is a caring, devoted and very competent physician. He worked in the emergency room for 12 years along with practicing family medicine so he is great at recognizing true urgent and emergent conditions but also understands preventative and holistic medicine due to his training in Family Medicine and being a graduate of an osteopathic medical school. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2010

After being a patient for 2 years with some major medical issues, he wouldn't take the time to look at my chart before entering the room to simply familiarize himself with me or my case. Considering I was there quite often, this was rather insulting. I wasn't asking him to know EVERYTHING but not to be surprised when just the week before I had "the most outrageous test results (he'd) ever seen". Or to remember that 2 days prior (literally) he'd diagnosed me with diabetes. In the 2 years I'd been there I'd never asked for pain medication. I began having nerve pain and asked him for something to get me through until my appt with a neurologist. Without hesitating or asking he prescribed me the one medication that was in my chart from 2 YEARS ago that I had problems taking. He wouldn't listen to me and said if I was unhappy I could see someone else. I couldn't believe it. One of the nurses called me and couldn't believe it either and saw that it was clearly in my chart from when I first started going there but he didn't look or want to. He was treating me like a drug seeker when, clearly, in my chart I'd NEVER asked for any sort of pain medication. Sorry, I feel nerve pain warrants it when you're not doing anything else about it and when I'm having to wait on a referral and then an appointment on top of it. Would I recommend this doctor? Absolutely not, not if you want to have a decent repore with your physician and not be afraid to ask for something when you know you need it. We know our bodies better then anyone and guaranteed if their family member (or them for that matter) were in fairly severe pain...they'd most likely do something to alleviate it.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 14th, 2017

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 27th, 2016

4.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2016

4.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Halverson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.

  • Dr. Tammy Beavers

    Family Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0 mi

    4.4
    (18)
    20
  • Dr. Srie Dewi Husen

    Family Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0.13 mi

    5.0
    (4)
  • Dr. Deborah Remchuk

    Internal Medicine, Family Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0.13 mi

    4.7
    (9)
    13