The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Kagan Is this you?
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Friendly Staff
Wait Time
17.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Kagan?


11 Ratings with 4 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 20th, 2012

Arrogant and incompetent

We were looking for a 2nd opinion. I took our son to him and he had no idea of his co-existing diagnosis.He is not Board Certified and does not have knowledge on co-existing problems. He sells a DVD on these problems but does not keep up to date, does not advocate behavioral modification. and is only interested in medicating We returned to our board certified Psychiatrist, who definitely is much better.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 28th, 2011

treatment of my daughter

I brought my daughter to see Dr Kagan. He disagreed with the psychologist perception of her problems, disagreed with the socialization program that she was moderately successful at, and insisted on prescriptions. He would not listen to my wife or my opinions. He did not like a team approach.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2010

Fair overview

Dr. Kagan practiced as a pediatrician successfully, then went back to a full psychiatric residency before returning to the community to open a psychiatric practice. His knowledge and judgment are excellent, and he is well-respected by his peers in the community. He stays up to date in the field, and frequently presents talks and trainings for others in the medical and psychological field.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2009

not board certified nor extensive psych training

He is a pediatrician and is not board cetrified in psychiatry, His knowledge is limited in this area. Will not accept insurance and will not work on a payment schedule. Does not have office help and has a shoddy office.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 14th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2016

4.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

October 9th, 2015

5.0 Rating

July 21st, 2014

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2011

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Kagan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fort Collins, CO.

  • ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

    Dr. Richard Oddy

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Clinical Psychology

    Fort Collins, CO 0.11 mi

    4.1
    (22)
    21
  • Dr. Joseph Christenson

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Addiction Medicine

    Fort Collins, CO 0.40 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    33
  • Dr. Terri Orcutt

    Clinical Psychology, Psychiatry

    Fort Collins, CO 0.40 mi

    3.3
    (3)
    23