Dr. James Maisel MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Hicksville, NY

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 43 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.6)

43 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    12%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 27.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Retnal Tears
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Maisel was incredible ! He explained everything in great detail and was extremely compassionate towards my feelings. I would highly recommend him !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
a highly competent caring doctor with a great friendly staff simply the best
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a big problem with my cataract surgery and he reoperated and got rid of my floaters and restored my vision.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2011
Miracle Worker
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The wait is abysmal, and his bed-side manner leaves a lot to be desired - HOWEVER. This is not important in the scheme of things.He is incredibly talented and professional. At the age of 21 years old I was diagnosed with severe retinal detachments in both eyes. The problem was simply too involved and complicated to be corrected with laser - instead, they manually went in and performed a scleral buckle surgery. In both eyes, weeks apart.He not only addressed the source of the problem, but prevented further problems with this preventative method. My peripheral vision was regained in both eyes, and they work in concert beautifully.He is a miracle worker this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 25th, 2010
Very Good Doctor
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been going to Dr. Maisel for over 4 years due to an eye condition that requires monitioring. From the beginning, he has answered all my questions, explained my condition in terms I can understand and recently when the condition changed and may require surgery, he has put me at ease. He always sends the results of my visit to my primary doctor.As for wait times, I'm usually taken within 15 minutes of arriving (this last time I barely sat down whe they called me) to have pre-tests and drops put in my eyes. The wait from pre-tests to seeing the doctor was 30 minutes, which isn't bad considering wait times I experience at other doctor offices.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 16th, 2010
Worst Doctor Ever...
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't listen is more concern about talking in his little device about my diagnose rather than talking to me directly. He gets annoyed if you ask more questions. He makes you wait forever to see him. His staff sit around and talk about him while he in the room with other patients. So that makes you see what type of employer he is. I will never go back. If you are referred to him, find another doctor who is willing to listen to your concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 19th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 6th, 2017

1.0 of 5
January 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 15th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients

4.0 of 5
February 16th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Maisel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hicksville, NY.