The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Maisel Is this you?

Filter Reviews

45 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.1
  • 27
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Maisel?

Showing 12 of 45 Ratings

Horrible support staff

Posted on September 26th, 2017

I cannot speak to the actual level of care that this doctors group provides, but I can say that the customer service from the support staff is totally lacking. I recently took my 78 year old father, who has been a patient for several years for an appointment at 9 am. He was turned away promptly due to his medicare supplemental insurance, not being accepted. When he offered to pay cash, he was also denied. Now, its not that he was denied or that his insurance wasn't taken that bothers me. It was the cold, unfeeling and uncaring manner that the receptionist treated him that upsets me. When they called the day before to confirm the appointment they didn't bother asking if there was a change of insurance or ever brought it up. When he was told he would have to see another specialist there was no apology for the inconvenience or even slight thought that he was a human being. When he asked who he should see, there was no attempt to give a recommendation or referral or suggestion. He was simply told to consult his insurance directory. So now my father has to seek out a new specialist to examine the growing blind spot in his vision with no help or remorse from this medical group

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Retnal Tears

Posted on April 27th, 2017

Dr. Maisel was incredible ! He explained everything in great detail and was extremely compassionate towards my feelings. I would highly recommend him !

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2015

a highly competent caring doctor with a great friendly staff simply the best

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 29th, 2011

I had a big problem with my cataract surgery and he reoperated and got rid of my floaters and restored my vision.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Miracle Worker

Posted on June 13th, 2011

The wait is abysmal, and his bed-side manner leaves a lot to be desired - HOWEVER. This is not important in the scheme of things.He is incredibly talented and professional. At the age of 21 years old I was diagnosed with severe retinal detachments in both eyes. The problem was simply too involved and complicated to be corrected with laser - instead, they manually went in and performed a scleral buckle surgery. In both eyes, weeks apart.He not only addressed the source of the problem, but prevented further problems with this preventative method. My peripheral vision was regained in both eyes, and they work in concert beautifully.He is a miracle worker this doctor.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Good Doctor

Posted on July 25th, 2010

I've been going to Dr. Maisel for over 4 years due to an eye condition that requires monitioring. From the beginning, he has answered all my questions, explained my condition in terms I can understand and recently when the condition changed and may require surgery, he has put me at ease. He always sends the results of my visit to my primary doctor.As for wait times, I'm usually taken within 15 minutes of arriving (this last time I barely sat down whe they called me) to have pre-tests and drops put in my eyes. The wait from pre-tests to seeing the doctor was 30 minutes, which isn't bad considering wait times I experience at other doctor offices.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst Doctor Ever...

Posted on July 16th, 2010

He doesn't listen is more concern about talking in his little device about my diagnose rather than talking to me directly. He gets annoyed if you ask more questions. He makes you wait forever to see him. His staff sit around and talk about him while he in the room with other patients. So that makes you see what type of employer he is. I will never go back. If you are referred to him, find another doctor who is willing to listen to your concerns.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 10th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on April 19th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on February 6th, 2017

One Star

Posted on January 4th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on October 15th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Maisel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hicksville, NY.