Dr. James Marion MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 53 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (+ 0.2)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 26 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 5th, 2016
Out to lunch
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Strange man. Sometimes he was genuinely warm and caring, other times he was sadistically cruel to both myself and my parent, and other times he was out of his mind. One time in particular, his speech was slurred and he was oddly mispronouncing both common words as well as medical terms. He was normal-ish again the next time I saw him, but I'm very thankful that he had his associate perform my colonoscopy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2016
UC Patient 15yrs
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Methodical. Informative. Very personable, extremely kind & genuinely nice person
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Very unprofessional and rude
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Marion has proven himself to be very poor in dealing with patients. Some of the other (negative) reviews make perfect sense to me. He has a serious attitude problem, and there is no excuse for treating patients badly. He has made inappropriate comments ("I'm surprised you're still alive...", "Don't waste my time."), was quite rude to my mother, and doesn't like being questioned. There are so many qualified doctors in the city, that there is no reason to even consider going to him. Seriously...if you're looking for a good doctor and considering a visit to Marion, you should reconsider. Although I think he's a relatively high-profile GI specialist with competent skills as a clinician, I don't have any personal proof that he's anything special. He may have helped many patients with his advice, but that doesn't negate anything I've said. If I could file a complaint against him and have him reprimanded, I would do it. I didn't have a problem with his staff or wait times, etc...they were adequate. But this particular doctor should be avoided
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 10th, 2015
Nurse/patent
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very knowledgeable. Kind,caring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 5th, 2015
Hard to reach
Easy Appointment
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
The office seems impossible to reach. Calls go unanswered. No useful information is forthcoming. Are patients still being seen? I have had great service in the past, but I am becoming concerned. Also, for a colonoscopy the out of pocket costs have become outrageous. What the heck is going on ?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 11th, 2015
Very unprofessional
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dealing with Dr. Marion was like dealing with Jekyll & Hyde. One minute he was friendly and reassuring, the next he was insulting and abusive - not only to myself but towards my family. He was wrong a lot, but never apologized or took responsibility. If I questioned his reasoning, he'd throw a temper tantrum. Outside of administering Remicade, he really didn't know all that much about medicine, nor about dealing with people. His partners were way more competent and emotionally stable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Crohn's patient.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Marion diagnosed me correctly so that I could get on the proper course of medications and have relief of pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just feel bad because I cannot afford to pay privately For Dr. Marion any longer. And, the cost to have regular office visits or tests like colonoscopies and endoscopes is way out of the ballpark!! I will need to see a local Long Island physician. I feel real bad because I saw him for years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2012
INTELLIGENT AND CARING DOCTOR
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DOCTOR MARION IS VERY CARING AND PROFESSIONAL. HE HAS ALOT OF EXPERIENCE IN TREATING CROHNS PATIENTS AND COLITIS PATIENTS LIKE MYSELF.THESE ILLNESSES ARE FRUSTRATING TO TREAT.GOAL FOR DR. MARION AND PATIENT IS REMISSION. SOMETIMES THIS IS DIFFICULT FOR BOTH DR. MARION AND THE PATIENT.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2012
He was very nasty.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have no idea what went wrong. Perhaps he had a bad day, but he is number one on my list of worst doctor experiences ever! The whole thing was a nightmare. He was nasty and we had hardly said hello, before he was yelling. We were just stunned. The office staff is just as nasty. I was desperate for a more expert opinion. I think this doctor has bad days... and so watch out. He's smart, but I felt like one of his medical students he was yelling at. I was too stunned to walk out. I never got my questions answered. Literally, we had just shaken hands, he asked one question and blew up in my face when he didn't like the answer. He accused me of not stating a fact, but an opinion. I finally made him realize with a test result that I brought with me, that I was stating a fact. He never apologized.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2012
Kind and excelled gastroenterologist
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a physician myself and I can tell you that my Crohn's disease was not manageable untilI met dr. Marion.He is the best in his field!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2012
Don't look any more...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He instills confidence and knows what he is talking about. Detailed oriented, listens, spends time thinking about the problem, great bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Marion, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Farzin Forooghian

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Joseph Truglio

8 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Gabriela Rodriguez-Caprio

30 years experience

5.0 of 5