The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Mccormick Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Mccormick?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Mccormick?

Ratings and Reviews

43 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 43 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

January 17th, 2016

Poor;

Leaves everything up to residents; when in for minor surgery left with a disaster and a very long hospitalization, would not recommend him to anyone. Nurses even complain about leaving everything up to residents Tone

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2015

A different experience

I was admitted to the hospital for emergency surgery and feel very fortunate that Dr. McCormick was assigned to me and that I went to Allegheny General Hospital for care. This was my first experience with this health care system and I find it superior to UPMC. This is a patient not profit centered health care system. Dr. McCormick was consistently caring and accurate in his diagnosis of my condition. He always asked me if I had any questions, provided me with clear and concrete answers and would not leave the examining room until he was sure that he had answered all my questions. He is a teaching doctor and I always had positive experiences with his residents. His office staff is great. Any time I called his answering service after hours, I received a call from the on call doctor within 10 minutes. I had very positive experiences with all the hospital staff I encountered through four hospitalizations. I responded much quicker to treatment than was expected and believe that this was due to the excellent care that I received. I have an elderly mother and the hospital staff was very kind and considerate toward her. As a result of my experience, I have switched my health care to the Allegheny Health Care System

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2013

Rectal surgery in elderly male

Dr. McCormick is very bright, highly competent surgeon, who requires pre surgical testing to determine, not only the size and location of the tumor, but the patient's overall health (heart, lungs, existing medical issues) to identify any problems that could compromise the surgery. He describes the surgery in detail enabling the patient to understand the method and the outcome. He has a down to earth attitude and a sense of humor that make him approachable and easy to understand, He does not present the "I Am God" personality that is occasionally seen in physicians who are specialized. Many of his patients are elderly and he is respectful, courteous and recognizes that although, they now are old, that they have lived productive lives.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2012

The office staff were kind and friendly. Before the surgery Dr. McCormick spent a long time with me and my family, until he was sure we were comfortable. The surgery went very well. I was only in the hospital a few days.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

June 24th, 2012

I've seen Dr. McCormick for a rectocele, in which the surgery went well, but six months later I was back in his office because he corrected the rectocele some but I still suffered with a moderate rectocele. When I went for a decacography test the second time I found out that I not only still had a rectocele but an enterocele as well. Therefore, he told me to get the enterocele taken care of first, then deal with rectocele. The Gynecologist repaired the enterocele at that time and a few months later, ended up doing my rectocele as well. Almost 2 years has past and I have returned to him with evacuation issues again and upon another test found out that I have a large enterocele; whereupon, Dr. McCormick referred me to a gastrointestenal doctor who has referred me to a different gynecologist. There was never a follow-up appointment after the test with Dr. McCormick nor did he speak to me about the test results. I spoke aver the phone with his office emploee and felt slighted and disappointed in him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2017

4.0 Rating

September 5th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 12th, 2017

4.0 Rating

February 25th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2017

1.0 Rating

February 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Mccormick is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

  • Dr. Clyde McAuley

    Dr. Clyde McAuley

    General Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    34
  • Dr. Lindsay Turner

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, General Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    9
  • Dr. David Haybron

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (9)
    29