Dr. James Mcdowell MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.9
  • 39 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (+ 0.3)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 23.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 4th, 2016
Amazing surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr McDowell has such an air of confidence that it is impossible to become nervous about the surgery. His bedside manner and quick wit immediately put you at ease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 7th, 2016
daugher of patient
Mom went in for Gallbladder surgery ,never came home , it was horrible what she went though,! As for me i have no trust in Dr anymore.!I l learned if you are not happy with the Dr go see another one because it your life ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2015
Amazing Surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McDowell is an amazing surgeon. Great bedside manner and straightforward. Tells it like it is and doesn't candy-coat it, but makes you feel like you can accomplish anything you put you mind to. If I had to do my surgery over again I would only do it if he were my surgeon again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 24th, 2015
NEVER AGAIN!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 21st, 2014
Don't use him
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was so happy after he fixed me after he messed up on my surgery, then a month later I realized a $2600 surgery was now costing me $9000 and a lot of pain. He sucks and I will tell anyone who asks. Aweful job!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 13th, 2013
Gallbladder
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I thought dr McDowell was a great doctor. Like with any surgery there are risks and if anything happens he is quick to help and do whatever he can to fix the situation. He has a great bed side manner and is very compassionate. Thanks dr mcdowell
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2013
wierd
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Just a wierd dude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 1st, 2011
Not the one to use!!!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After a year now and two botched hernia surgeries by James McDowell, I am facing a third by another surgeon, in addition the removal of a testical because it was damaged by Mcdowell. After the first, I explained to him just a few weeks afterwards that there were issues, his arrogance blew me off, then he was proven to be wrong, his work failed. I trusted him to conduct the second surgery. This was wrong to do and again, just a few weeks after the surgery, it failed again. He did not believe me, actually, he did not want to admit. He put me off for 6 months after the fact. He was only buying time to keep a malpractices suit from taking place. I can not even begin to tell you the number of issues that took place, but they all are real and documented. Please, do not use him.... do yourself a huge favor.. my life and quality of life has greatly diminished due to his lack of skills.I could write pages and detail every second of it.... If necessary.... Again, do not use him.....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2010
super surgeon,wonderful person
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR.MCDOWELL SAVED MY 26 YEAR OLD SONS LIFE,IN 2005.HE REPAIRED A BOTCHED HERNIA FOR ME IN 2009.HE IS OUTSTANDING,I OWE HIM BIG TIME AND WOULD NOT HESITATE TO USE HIM.I WILL BE FOREVER GREATFUL TO HIM FOR WHAT HE DID FOR US.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2009
Great Surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. McDowell fixed a botched hernia for me and did a fabulous job. I highly recommend him. Great bedside manner and humor. Great office staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Mcdowell, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Nashville, TN.

Doctor

Dr. George Lynch

23 years experience

3.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Dyer

37 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Douglas Olsen

37 years experience

5.0 of 5