Dr. James Modlinger MD Patient Reviews

  • Cardiovascular Disease Newbury Park, CA

Overall Rating

2.7
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.3)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    31%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    12%
  • Bad
    46%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 47.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2015
Very thorough
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred by a friend and the Dr was very through. Yes you will be at the office for a while but it's worth it. All the tests are done in office. He went over all of my lab work and explained everything. The staff was great with me and made me feel at ease when I was nervous. Dr. Mod linger got to the root of what was going on internally and didn't just give me a list of pills. Which was awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 17th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very traumatic experience with the US lab technician. Has no respect for patient confidentiality. He let my dad walk into the exam room while i was shirtless without even warning me or my dad. It was just mortifying. Very unprofessional. Will never be going back
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2014
Respectful pt. lead on by disrespectful Dr.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very disorganized. Disrespects his staff. Hurried manner. Orders many unneccessary test with huge bills. Unethical by dating his pts. & ridding of them as if they were a waste specimen. Very full of himself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Modlinger was recommended to me by a friend and I consider myself lucky to have made my first appointment. I have never received the detailed immediate attention from any other physician in my entire life of 72 years. Dr. M's office is self contained with most of the test equipment that other doctors send you to other facilities to accomplish and if Dr. M wants certain info the staff responds immediately with the desired test in his office. Dr. M listens to his patients and responds to solve the problem not sending the patient home in many casses until the issue is resolved to his satisfaction. This requires extra time so the 15 minute standard with other doctors visits may take a couple of hours but the solution is reached. With blood work sent out to a lab and the lab results do not make sense, the test is repeated using another lab to assure accuracy. Another key to the success of the office is the exceptional staff employed by Dr. M. That staff is well tuned to his methods and direction and expedites his directions with multiple patients simultaneously achieving the desired test results. New patients may not realize that the value in total time saved is in medical tests and treatment performed within the office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2013
R.N. Consultant
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.J. Modlinger had compassion for me as a pt. and provided the utmost professionalism as a physician. He goes more than the extra mile to provide an accurate DX, in addition referring to other physicians when needed. His background and years of expertise have been the result of my well being. He takes an unhurried approach, where sometimes it may be mistaken as him spending too much time with other pts. As a nurse,and observing many physicians in my career it was comforting to know there are still concientious and caring physicians like Dr. Modlinger still around. His hospital affiliations also speak for themselves. His office staff is very accomodating and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2013
Total Confidence
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't usually right reviews but here goes: The fist visit to Dr. Modlinger took about 4 hours. During that time I had several tests done. At first I was impatient because I was in the office for so long but then I realized that if I had gone to another Doctor he would have probably scheduled me for the same tests at the hospital or other places. Instead, i had all tests done in his office on same day. I only had to take one day off of work instead of 4 or 5. He is very thorough. I was afraid of heart disease because my dad had a fatal heart attack and my mom has high blood pressure and had several mini strokes. Dr. Modlinger got a great baseline on my current health and came up with a plan for me to reduce my risk factors. A lot of Drs don't want to deal with you until something is wrong but Dr. Modlinger wants to prevent problems. It does take time to get your answers but you do get them. I have complete confidence in Dr. Modlinger to keep me on the right path to health.

1.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2012
all about running up the bill
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You get a strong felling that all this doctor cares was to run all the tests he could bill you and the incurance.Excessive testing (ran all tests he has equipment for, most of them are not necessary, and ordered repeat or extra tests when unsure about how to interpret lab results), very bad manner (yelling at staff all the time), everage waiting is 1h at least, very opinionated. I would not recommend anybody to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
August 1st, 2011
Patience required - bring book and lunch
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosis good but runs every test in the world whether you need it or not. Very disorganized, aggressive and opinionated. If you disagree he won't discuss alternatives. Is imperialistic Little Cesear - his way or the highway.Suggest getting more opinions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2011
He destroyed my life.
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He destroyed my life
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2010
Never go to him !!
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Bunch of tests, spent lot of money. No concrete results.Awful experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 18th, 2010
He tests We all pay he gets richer
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worest manners. He yells at staff, never keeps appts. Tests to make sure he makes a big return on the outdated equipment he has. He did not check with my insurance costing me money. With all the testing you think he would share the results with you. If you deal with him you might have a heart attack because of him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Modlinger, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newbury Park, CA.