The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Monahan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Monahan?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Monahan?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2017

Whatever it takes

Dr. Monahan is both friendly and knowledgeable with great bedside manner. He listens better than any other physician I've worked with and puts data together to identify a problem or refer to a specialist when needed. I once presented with sarcoidosis, a disease that is notoriously difficult to diagnose. Most sarcoid sufferers don't get any answers until they've gone through several visits, often to more than one doctor. Monahan was able to sort it out in the first visit. He spent 2 hours with me in his office that day, which shows his focus and care. I've never worried about his being late since: I know that it's someone else's turn and he's busy giving them the time they need.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 29th, 2014

Familiar

Dr. Monahan always knows who I am and my history. I don't know if he brushes up on my file before I go in but I doubt he has the time. I've been seeing him for years and I wouldn't change. He has a very low turnover in staff which assures me it's a good place to be.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 11th, 2014

Dr. Monahan really hasn't helped much with a family member's illness He sits and listens to her but hasn't really diagnosed the problem. Lots of tests have been ordered and still there is pain with no cure! I feel all we do is go in to the office for the appointment, tell him our situation and then we leave in the same boat paying the fee for basically no results. Not good with follow-up either. Sorry...

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 10th, 2012

Very experienced , excellent bedside manner, knows what he is doing, asks questions, listens to you , takes time to explain your condition to you!Looks for the solution with the best results.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 31st, 2009

Very caring,well informed.Excellent personal physician. Would recommend to anyone.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

1.0 Rating

March 25th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 31st, 2011

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 17th, 2010

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 12th, 2010

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

April 7th, 2010

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Monahan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gurnee, IL.

  • Dr. Vivek Arora

    Dr. Vivek Arora

    Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0 mi

    4.8
    (5)
    24
  • Dr. Shilpa Bamrolia

    Dr. Shilpa Bamrolia

    Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0 mi

    4.7
    (7)
    19
  • Dr. Thomas Woike

    Dr. Thomas Woike

    Internal Medicine

    Gurnee, IL 0 mi

    4.4
    (4)
    8