Dr. James Nix III MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Huntsville, AL

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 47 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    47%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2015
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful caring man. Staff are great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 28th, 2015
Never again.
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was going to Dr. NIX for about 3 and half years. At first I really liked him, he seemed to be the only doctor who was willing to help me. I was put on progesterone at the age of 17 to "regulate" my periods. Which didn't help, he just kept doubling the dosage. Finally I just completely stopped taking them about a year and a half in. Every doctor appointment I would get my blood drawn. I am now 21 with over 1,000 in debt because of silly things for him to get money. I am not at a new doctor and was told I shouldn't have had a LEEP surgery and now on top of my infertility I might not be able to get pregnant because of this surgery. If I cannot get pregnant or hold a pregnancy because of this surgery I will be absolutely devastated. It will completely ruin my life. What is a woman if she cannot have child. I will never recommend him to anyone ever. He doesn't care he is more worried about getting paid. The staff if terrible. The only woman I loved and wished I could just take her with me to my new doctor is his nurse practitioner, she talked to me almost everyday during my fertility treatments. She didn't ever show any type of annoyance. She was always the one who spoke with me. I rarely ever saw Dr Nix. I am very very pleased with Dr Leon Lewis and I recommend him to any and everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HORRIBLE! UN KIND, DOES NOT CARD and the list goes on. I have never felt comfortable in that office . The wait time in the lobby is no less than an hour ,sometimes up to 3. Then you get called back and wait another hour before you see him for all of 5 minutes meanwhile he has his hand on the door. He is the true definition of a quack . Find a different doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
HORRIBLE! !
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man and his staff are a joke! Stay away from there especially if you are pregnant, he does not care about you at all. His own ultrasound tech says she would not go to him if she were pregnant and currently the only person in that office that was decent just quit . You wait for 2 hours just to be called in the back, once you are finally back there you wait for at least another 45 minutes for him to come in and not even ask how you are feeling with his hand on the door waiting to leave. He is more interested in botox and cosmetics than he is pregnant women or women's health in general. I'm glad I found a new doctor who has a personality and truly does care and know what he's doing before my baby is due. Stay away from this man ,he will do more harm than good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2014
Don't even think about going here
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst doctor experience I ever had. Waited 2+ hours SEVERAL times. When you see the actual doctor he is hurried and could care less about you. I had test results come back and told they were clear then 2 years LATER was told something different, Needless to say I go to a new ob/gyn
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 4th, 2013
Horrible
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Nix for a little over a year, and I found it to be a year wasted. He put me on various medications but failed to explain why I needed the medication. About six months after this, his office staff absolutely refused to do any preapprovals for my medication, the. Tried to send me to a compound pharmacy..which by the way, compound pharmacies are not regulated by the FDA. Dr. Nix has awful bedside manners and I never felt comfortable with my appointments. Once the staff refused to do preapprovals, I was done and immediately switched doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2013
Wonderful
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nix is the most knowledgable gun/on Dr. I've met. He is very through with his patients, his bedside manner is 5 star. It's nice to have a Dr. Who still talks to, with his patients so they can understand what he is saying. If he runs a little late, it's because he's spending time taking good care of his patients. He's the BEST!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 5th, 2013
Not going back
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Came in room and obviously did not read my patient form or nurses notes. The nurse had to point out various things she noted. He only checked a couple of hormones. Wouldn't you check all female hormones to ensure an accurate diagnosis? Sure you would. I was put on multiple Rx's and mainly bio-identicals. I was so sick the following weeks I stopped everything. The main thing I think they pursue is weight loss. You simply cannot focus on weight loss when the hormones are not at proper levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2013
good Dr
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Dr. Nix is a good Dr. and he gets to help pleple. he is so nice to every one he knows can you plese call my mom to make a appit with you because i heart a lot down there Dr. engle does not do thangs so will.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2012
Great OB/GYN and Horomone Replacement Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Nix by a friend of mine. I went to see him and found all of his staff as well as Dr. Nix to be friendly, caring, propt and professional. He has helped me so much with my post menopause condition. He is a great doctor and I would recommend him to any and all women.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2012
Never going back
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His bedside manner is bad. I didn't want to go with the treatment he had recommended, and he didn't take too kindly to that at all. He then continued to have a grudge for the rest of the appointment. For the actual procedure he was not gentle. When it comes to questions about prescriptions and getting refills, his office requires about 3 phones calls before they'll do something. I'm definitely switching.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Nix III, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.

Doctor

Dr. John Cimino

20 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Hogan

32 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Eric Tallent

35 years experience

4.1 of 5