The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Pautz Is this you?
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Pautz?


12 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2017

He is genuine, honest, caring and very involved with his patients care. He has literally saved my Dad's life more than once. He has helped my dad in so many ways and always thinks of my dads best interest first. Without his knowledge and care my dad would not be here today. Thank you so much Dr Pautz!!!!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2016

It has been a while now that Dr. Pautz has been at UW Medicine rather than at Swedish. All listed info is now obsolete.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2015

Dr. Pautz is a wonderful physician. He has been my Cardiologist for years. He has always treated me respectfully. He listens carefully to everything we discuss then treats me accordingly. Ifeel lucky to have him as my doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 2nd, 2014

Bad Bedside Manner, Totally Wrong Diagnosis, Rude

I called a cardiologist I had seen previously to make an appointment since I was having some chest pains and had just had an abnormal EKG. He was on a long vacation, so I was referred to Dr. Pautz if I wanted to see someone quickly. Dr. Pautz took one look at me and pronounced my issue to be my gallbladder He refused to look at or answer questions about my abnormal EKG. This was before performing any tests, examining me, or asking me any questions. He then started asking me questions and performing an exam. I answered all his questions with a truthful no, and he got mad at me for contradicting him. After about 11 or 12 questions all answered with no, he very testily said, well, it's still your gall bladder. He referred me to get an ultrasound. He ended by saying the office would call me with the results. Besides his horrible bedside manner, bad attitude, jumping to conclusions and gruff demeanor, Dr. Pautz would not look me in the eye - it actually looked like he was staring at my breasts for most of the time. While I was getting the ultrasound, the technician kept asking me with a puzzled expression and demeanor - "the doctor said it was your gallbladder?" They kept doing the test for a very long time, moving me to more convoluted positions in an attempt to get every possible angle. After waiting quite a few days and not getting any call with the results, I called Dr. Pautz's office and they would not tell me anything about the test results. They insisted I needed to come in to see the doctor to get any information. I decided to call my original cardiologist since I really did not trust or like Dr. Pautz. The nurse from the original cardiologist's office called me back very promptly and gave me the results of my tests over the phone - absolutely nothing in the tests indicated any problem with my gallbladder. They expressed some surprise that the technician took 55 minutes performing the tests, saying it was much longer than they usually see a test taking. My only conclusion is that they kept trying to prove Dr. Pautz correct in his diagnosis, but there was no way to do that since his diagnosis was totally incorrect. I then had an appointment with the original cardiologist, who thoroughly and happily went over the abnormal EKG (which Dr. Pautz had refused to do). The original cardiologist then listened carefully to my description of symptoms, asked pertinent questions, listened carefully to my answers and referred me to a gastroenterologist because the symptoms sounded like an esophageal problem. I have since seen a gastroenterologist and had the appropriate tests and they determined the issue is definitely esophageal related, diagnosing a Schatzki Ring, a hiatal hernia, erosive gastritis, and GERD. I am now getting appropriate treatment for these actual issues. No thanks to Dr. Pautz, though, who was thoroughly wrong in his hair-trigger assessment and did not listen to any facts. Dr. Pautz's hubris, rudeness and irresponsibility caused many more weeks of discomfort, not being able to eat and extreme fatigue. I would recommend that anyone needing medical attention avoid Dr. Pautz.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 28th, 2010

Very good doctor and pleasant, down-to-earth man

I've been a patient of Jim Pautz's for year and a half. I've been very happy with the manner in which he treats me, his friendliness, the clarity with which he explains all issues, and how accessible he is (Drs. in general can be a pretty arrogant bunch!) Unfortunately, this site lists the wrong number for his office. Their number is xxx-6999, not xxx-9999 as listed here. By the way, his assistant is also great.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2010

Super Doctor

Dr. Pautz is great - he is professional, direct, caring and interested in a good patient outcome. Focused on doing the right thing not always the easy thing!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

August 20th, 2017

3.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

1.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 4th, 2014

5.0 Rating

May 9th, 2014

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Pautz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Edmonds, WA.

  • Dr. Robert Ingham

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Edmonds, WA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    47
  • Dr. Jeanne Poole

    Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology, Cardiology, Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Edmonds, WA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    37
  • Dr. Thomas Tocher

    Internal Medicine

    Edmonds, WA 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (6)
    28