ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Payton Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Payton?

Bipolar Disorder

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Payton?

Ratings and Reviews

20 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
24.4 min

Showing 20 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 27th, 2016

My experience with Dr. Payton

He does care. He does listen. He makes time to listen. If you listen, he makes a lot of sense on how to make your own life better without medications. Suggestions you may have just forgotten throughout an ongoing struggle with your life. Applying it and working with yourself on those suggestions help so much. A plus for me is that he is not drown out like a middle man therapist who rambles for an hour. He tells you the truth and lets you process it and he somehow does this within 15 minutes. You get more time for your appointment, I just meant he can sum up in 15 minutes what takes an hour for a therapist. I think he is wonderful. I've been to a lot of Psychiatrists and I knew if it didn't work out with Dr. Payton I would stop looking altogether. I was tired and at my end with Mental Health Doctors. I'm glad I didn't give up and I'm very grateful I found him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2015

I've been visiting Dr. Payton for many years. I can't say enough good things about him.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2015

Payton Sucks.

I went to his office and actually left because he was over 1 hour and 30 min. late. His staff was hateful and when I did see him in session, he was exceedingly condescending.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 25th, 2012

Do not trust him

He treated me when I was 6 years old and gave me a series of drug cocktails for ADHD that lead to hallucinations and extreme behavior change. He is scum.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 1st, 2011

Saved my family; twelve years of excellent experience

Dr. Payton has successfully treated my son, my daughter, and my husband, all of whom had serious psychiatric diagnoses. Our family has survived because of his expertise. He is always willing to listen, check into any concerns, and treats patients with respect and courtesy.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2010

abby kramer

abosolute best psychiatrist ever had!!!!!! so knowledgeable, makes u feel comfortable, so that i can be 100% open and honest. just amazing! A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ +

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

September 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

December 18th, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 5th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 4th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Payton is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Asheville, NC.

  • Dr. Daniel Johnson

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Asheville, NC 0.21 mi

    3.5
    (11)
    15
  • Dr. Tiffany Sauls

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Asheville, NC 0.21 mi

    15
  • Dr. Robert Kertzner

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Asheville, NC 0.29 mi

    4.1
    (6)
    35