The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Petway Is this you?
  • 13
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Petway?


22 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2017

Good Experience

Wife made me go see this doctor. Didn't want to but him & his staff were great.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 3rd, 2016

Good sleep doctor

By far the best sleep doctor in the area. I had been to a sleep doctor before. No help, no follow up. This Doctor is very knowledgeable & has great office staff. They have helped me with my problem and to finally get used to my machine. Would recommend him to anyone using or needing a sleep apnea machine. Very helpful. .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2016

Good experience

Had my first visit with this Doctor last month. The office was great about working me in promptly due to a sudden problem. Had a Follow up visit this week. Very pleased with how things have gone. I would recommend him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2015

Great sleep apnea Doc

This Doc is really good with sleep apnea. He listened to the problems I was having with my cpap and helped to get me a different type of machine for apnea. It has helped tremendously. I recommend him for sleep apnea. I have no lung problems so can't evaluate him on that area.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2015

My dad recently saw this Dr because he had a suspicious xray.. He was very quick to do further testing and get us a diagnosis. He spend a great deal of time going over the final diagnosis & treatment plan. His staff was very comforting .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 26th, 2015

Pleased

I am a new patient to this Dr. It was a very good experience. The staff is very friendly. The Dr spent a great deal of time with me to review my problem & work on a plan. My visit was a really good experience. Will be going back to see this Dr.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 30th, 2013

Delighted Patient

I would recommend Dr. Petway to anyone with breathing or sleep issues. He is thorough, patient, and keen at problem solving. He remembered something I had told him about a family member and asked me about her at a follow-up appointment. It is rare that a doctor shows such humanity. I am shocked when I read the negative comments on this page. Actually, the language and syntax (I am a long-time educator) indicate that four of the comments were written by the same person. I am sure that for this one disgruntled patient, there are hundreds or thousands of pleased patients...like me.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2013

Patient, compassionate, knowledgable doctor

Dr. Petway dramatically improved my life when he suspected that I had sleep apnea and suggested a sleep study. I have been using CPAP now for about eight years, and my quality of life is orders of magnitude better. I used to be sleepy in the daytime almost constantly; now I never feel sleepy in the daytime. Prior to visiting Dr. Petway, there were times when I would doze off in meetings or when driving, and I now feel awake and alert during my waking hours. I am so thankful for Dr. Petway's keen skills of observation, evaluation, and diagnosis. I know that sleep apnea can cause or contribute to all sorts of medical issues, and I am delighted that my sleep apnea is now under control and monitored by an excellent physician. Dr. Petway listens with kindness and patience, and this is rare among doctors today. I recommend Dr. Petway wholeheartedly.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 18th, 2013

Smart and thoughtful. Solved my problem elegantly.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 6th, 2009

Petway has not followed up with me on a sleep study performed over 2 months ago.The office staff has taken my messages where I have asked for him to Please follow up with me. I have yet to receive a call.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 11th, 2017

4.0 Rating

September 10th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Petway is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cumming, GA.

  • Dr. Laena Karnstedt

    Dr. Laena Karnstedt

    Internal Medicine

    Cumming, GA 0.04 mi

    4.7
    (30)
    25
  • Dr. Malcolm Traxler Jr

    Internal Medicine

    Cumming, GA 0.06 mi

    4.5
    (10)
    17
  • Dr. Fernando Alvarez-Bognar

    Internal Medicine

    Cumming, GA 0.23 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    15