Overall Review

3.6
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 1.2)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 35.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2014
You'll wait forever with 5 minutes of his time
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have waited hours every time I've been there. Had a colonoscopy scheduled for 8 am. Didn't even get called in until 11. You'll wait 1-2 hours to be seen and then see him for 5 minutes. You'll be lucky if he speaks more than five words to you. You have to ask him what his medical opinion is of your symptoms because he won't offer it. He just scribbles an RX and sends you on your way. Forgets even between phone calls all about your case.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 17th, 2014
Wouldn't let him treat my dog!!!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I WAS a patient of Dr. Puleo II and found him to be rude, abrasive demeaning, and accusatory. His bed side manner left much to be desired. I got the distinct feeling that he thinks that being a Dr. makes him better and much more important than you or I, His Patient. I would NEVER recommend him to anyone. He continued to tell me that there was nothing wrong with me even after I ended up in the emergency room in debilitating stomach pain and was admitted. Finally his father came in to see me as he was covering for his son and diagnosed me with a Gal stone that was stuck in the duct and they ended up having to remove the Gal Bladder. Then He came in an had the nerve to say "see I told you we would figure it out and fix it" . REALLY?? Cause I don't remember HIM Having anything to do with the diagnosis. My thanks And Praise went only to his father.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2013
Excellent Primary Care Physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Puleo has been my primary care physician for over 15 years, In that time I have never had a negative thing to say about him or his staff. He has always been extremely concerned about my health issues and has always recommended specialists when the need arose. I spend most of the year in Florida and have always been able to contact him if the need arose. He is a caring and extremely competent doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 9th, 2013
Find yourself a different gastro Dr.
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited approx. 35 min. before being called into the back for an endoscopy. I had an early morning appointment, so what was his reason for already running late? No one could explain. Front office staff sat behind a closed glass window and didn't greet any patients entering the waiting room –- they were more focused on their box of donut holes and coffee, and it took them 25 minutes before they moved the glass window to bother to look at the sign-in clip board (i.e., lazy). Best word to describe Dr. Puleo is “smarmy” -- behaving in a way that seems superficially polite, but it is neither genuine nor believable. He had little time or interest in explain things, or listening to and responding to questions. Provided minimalist answers to questions. BEWARE of being scheduled for a follow-up visit just for him to tell you that "the test results were all okay" -- a real waste of time (and money) for the patient. Evidently, your inconvenience is not his concern. The unnecessary follow-up visit is just a sham way he makes more money for what a nurse could tell you for free in a 30-second phone call. Completely unnecessary, and it's the kind of thing that contributes to high insurance costs Let's hope that he reads these reviews and makes an effort to improve. I’ll never know, though, because I will be finding a different gastro Dr. in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2012
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really didn't think he cared about me as a patient, wouldn't listen to me and kept telling me I was fine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 18th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
was very rude and impatient didnt spend enough time with explaining my condition
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2010
Wonderful Primary Care Doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of his since 1997, first as a gastro patient and continuing till present (2010)as a primary care patient. He was the only gastro who believed me when I said that my sympthoms of h-pylori were still present after other experts in the area had treated me and pronounced me cured. I wasn't and Doctor Puleo was the only who listened, believed me, treated me and finally cured me. He is exceptionally caring, never turns away a patient in need, works long hours, is very personalable, and gets a top recommendation from me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 27th, 2010
Sarcastic rude doctor
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr Puleo sarcastic and rude. He seemed to blame me for not being able to reach all the colon in colonoscopy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 5th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent bedside manner with good personal touch to health care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. James Puleo, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Albany, NY.

Doctor

Dr. James Puleo

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Emile Powe

41 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Prakash Viswanathan

11 years experience

5.0 of 5